District Council of Mount BarkerCommunity profile

We’re continuing to update these pages with data from the 2016 Census. Read more about our updates.

Skip to content

Country Townships

About the profile areas

The 2016 Estimated Resident Population for Country Townships is 9,857, with a population density of 0.22 persons per hectare.

Location and boundaries

Country Townships is located in two sections, separated by the Greater Mount Barker area. The eastern section of Country Townships is bounded by the Adelaide Hills and Mid Murray Council areas in the north, the Rural City of Murray Bridge in the east, the Alexandrina Council area, the locality of Wistow, Lakeview Road, Back Callington Road and Springs Road in the south, and the localities of Mount Barker Springs and Mount Barker, the South Eastern Freeway, the locality of Dawesley, the Princes Highway, Military Road and Range Road in the west. The western section of Country Townships is bounded by the Adelaide Hills Council area in the north, the localities of Totness, Mount Barker and Wistow and Wellington Road in the east, the Alexandrina Council area in the south, and the City of Onkaparinga and the Onkaparinga River in the west.

Settlement history

Settlement of the area dates from 1839, with land used mainly for farming, grazing, orcharding, timber getting and vineyards, with some mining. Growth took place from the 1850s into the late 1800s, aided by gold mining. The population increased gradually from the early 1990s as new dwellings were added to the area.

Land use

Country Townships encompasses the small townships of Echunga, Hahndorf, Macclesfield and Meadows, and surrounding rural-residential and rural areas. Land is used mainly for grazing, orchards and vineyards.

Major features

Major features of the area include the historic township of Hahndorf, Mount Barker Summit, Hahndorf Resort & Convention Centre, Hahndorf Academy, St Paul's and St Michael's Lutheran churches, The Cedars historic home, Hahndorf Cemetery, Hahndorf Farm Barn, Jupiter Creek Goldfields, Beerenberg Strawberry Farm, Echunga Golf Club, Callington Recreation Park, Carl Nitschke Memorial Park, Davenport Square, Day Paddock Park, Echunga Recreation Ground, Hahndorf Recreation Grounds, Hutton Reserve, Kanmantoo Reserve, Lord Robinson Park, Macclesfield Sporting Complex, Meadows Recreation Grounds, Night Paddock Park, Pioneer Park, Prospect Hill Recreation Grounds, Stone Reserve, Yantaringa Reserve, Harrogate Cemetery, Harrogate Hall, the Onkaparinga River, the Angas River, the Heysen Trail, several wineries and numerous schools.

Included areas

Country Townships includes the localities of Biggs Flat, Bugle Ranges, Chapel Hill, Echunga, Flaxley, Green Hills Range, Harrogate, Jupiter Creek, Kanmantoo, Meadows, Mount Barker Summit, Paechtown, Petwood and St Ives, and the District Council of Mount Barker parts of the localities of Bradbury, Bridgewater, Bull Creek, Callington, Dorset Vale, Hahndorf, Kangarilla, Kuitpo, Macclesfield, Mount Torrens, Mylor, Paris Creek, Prospect Hill and Verdun.