Mornington Peninsula ShireCommunity profile

We’re continuing to update these pages with data from the 2016 Census. Read more about our updates.

Skip to content

Mornington Peninsula Shire

Migration by age and location

Between 2006 and 2011, the LGA with the highest net migration to Mornington Peninsula Shire (+532) was from Kingston (C), whilst the highest net loss (-167) was to South Gippsland (S).

The age structure of people who move into and out of Mornington Peninsula Shire is strongly influenced by the residential role and function of the area and can influence demand for particular services. For instance, inner city areas near employment, education and entertainment tend to attract many young people in their late teens and early twenties, who move out in their late twenties and thirties to start families in suburban areas. Rural areas tend to lose young people and gain older families and retirees.

Understanding Mornington Peninsula Shire's attraction to different age groups helps to plan services for the community as well as advocating with other levels of government and private enterprise to provide infrastructure, employment opportunities and facilities which may help to retain age groups which are otherwise leaving the area.

Derived from the Census questions:

'Where does the person usually live?' and 'Where did the person usually live five years ago (at 9 August 2006)'.

Net gains and losses by LGA
Mornington Peninsula Shire - between 2006 and 2011
LGAIn migrationOut migrationNet migration
Kingston (C)1,268736+532
Knox (C)657167+490
Bayside (C)811326+485
Boroondara (C)755281+474
Monash (C)644214+430
Whitehorse (C)618194+424
Manningham (C)49483+411
Glen Eira (C)627234+393
Yarra Ranges (S)565195+370
Maroondah (C)467130+337
Banyule (C)28184+197
Stonnington (C)525334+191
Nillumbik (S)20131+170
Greater Dandenong (C)330163+167
Frankston (C)3,9453,796+149
Port Phillip (C)546411+135
Casey (C)1,1981,112+86
Darebin (C)210151+59
Brimbank (C)9133+58
Moonee Valley (C)13380+53
Moreland (C)196148+48
Brisbane (C)223177+46
Joondalup (C)508+42
Yarra (C)257218+39
Hume (C)11779+38
Horsham (RC)384+34
Maribyrnong (C)9359+34
Murrindindi (S)7543+32
Ryde (C)357+28
Lake Macquarie (C)357+28
Wollongong (C)3811+27
Adelaide Hills (DC)270+27
Hobsons Bay (C)7753+24
Bega Valley (A)6844+24
Wyong (A)3412+22
Shoalhaven (C)6846+22
Logan (C)5837+21
Vincent (T)190+19
Leichhardt (A)269+17
Toowoomba (R)3013+17
Cambridge (T)226+16
Randwick (C)5035+15
Port Adelaide Enfield (C)216+15
Shellharbour (C)239+14
Penrith (C)217+14
Unley (C)163+13
Charles Sturt (C)163+13
Bathurst Regional (A)153+12
Port Macquarie-Hastings (A)219+12
Waratah/Wynyard (M)186+12
Griffith (C)120+12
Sutherland Shire (A)4331+12
Subiaco (C)153+12
Alexandrina (DC)120+12
Woollahra (A)120+12
Swan Hill (RC)2412+12
Pittwater (A)197+12
George Town (M)110+11
Northern Grampians (S)3221+11
Waverley (A)198+11
Salisbury (C)2211+11
Break O'Day (M)100+10
Exmouth (S)100+10
Colac-Otway (S)177+10
Onkaparinga (C)3424+10
Hurstville (C)100+10
Liverpool (C)1910+9
Nedlands (C)90+9
Tea Tree Gully (C)156+9
Wattle Range (DC)90+9
Kingborough (M)2012+8
Great Lakes (A)179+8
Hawkesbury (C)157+8
Warringah (A)2315+8
Hepburn (S)3124+7
Moora (S)70+7
Glenorchy (C)147+7
Coffs Harbour (C)1811+7
Burnie (C)136+7
West Torrens (C)103+7
Tablelands (R)103+7
Walgett (A)70+7
Snowy River (A)70+7
Southern Downs (R)103+7
Southern Grampians (S)136+7
Devonport (C)1710+7
Eurobodalla (A)2721+6
Bayswater (C)126+6
Burwood (A)60+6
Kentish (M)60+6
Glamorgan/Spring Bay (M)60+6
Gosford (C)4034+6
Wingecarribee (A)126+6
Burnside (C)93+6
Mundaring (S)126+6
Denmark (S)60+6
Cowra (A)60+6
Goulburn Mulwaree (A)60+6
Lane Cove (A)60+6
Albury (C)3126+5
Tumbarumba (A)94+5
Indigo (S)2217+5
Parramatta (C)1510+5
Deniliquin (A)128+4
Wodonga (RC)5046+4
Blue Mountains (C)117+4
Lithgow (C)73+4
Manly (A)95+4
Cessnock (C)73+4
Swan (C)1915+4
Marion (C)1612+4
Gympie (R)1511+4
Singleton (A)63+3
Queenscliffe (B)63+3
Marrickville (A)129+3
Camden (A)129+3
Augusta-Margaret River (S)96+3
Stirling (C)4138+3
Albany (C)63+3
Narrandera (A)63+3
The Hills Shire (A)3027+3
Melville (C)1815+3
Robe (DC)63+3
Circular Head (M)63+3
Blacktown (C)129+3
Moorabool (S)2724+3
South Perth (C)97+2
Sorell (M)64+2
Clarence Valley (A)1210+2
Redland (C)3230+2
Greater Hume Shire (A)119+2
Huon Valley (M)1513+2
Ballina (A)2927+2
Kwinana (T)109+1
Greater Geraldton76+1
Bellingen (A)76+1
Rockdale (C)1312+1
Willoughby (C)65+1
Ku-ring-gai (A)109+1
Bunbury (C)76+1
Geraldton-Greenough (C)76+1
Clarence (C)2928+1
Whittlesea (C)141140+1
Roebourne (S)1110+1
King Island (M)660
Glenelg (S)18180
Kempsey (A)910-1
Wagga Wagga (C)2223-1
Greater Shepparton (C)5657-1
Canning (C)1214-2
Meander Valley (M)810-2
Alice Springs (T)1416-2
Mitcham (C)2022-2
Launceston (C)3537-2
Canada Bay (A)2224-2
Buloke (S)1215-3
Fairfield (C)36-3
Isaac (R)36-3
Parkes (A)36-3
Adelaide (C)36-3
Cooma-Monaro (A)36-3
Mosman (A)912-3
Victor Harbor (C)36-3
Hornsby (A)1922-3
Rockhampton (R)1518-3
Kyogle (A)36-3
Greater Taree (C)1821-3
Maitland (C)912-3
Lockyer Valley (R)69-3
Mount Isa (C)36-3
Katherine (T)69-3
Esperance (S)37-4
Macedon Ranges (S)6670-4
Gannawarra (S)2024-4
Central Coast (M)1014-4
Roper Gulf (S)37-4
Litchfield (M)1822-4
Alpine (S)3641-5
Unincorporated Vic1217-5
Cassowary Coast (R)712-5
Mandurah (C)1924-5
Armadale (C)611-5
Ashburton (S)06-6
Wollondilly (A)39-6
Coolgardie (S)06-6
Light (RegC)06-6
Scenic Rim (R)06-6
Loddon (S)1925-6
Muswellbrook (A)39-6
Mount Gambier (C)39-6
Brighton (M)06-6
Whyalla (C)06-6
Tweed (A)4450-6
Gladstone (R)1218-6
No usual address (Tas.)07-7
Dubbo (C)07-7
West Arnhem (S)07-7
Mid-Western Regional (A)07-7
Nambucca (A)07-7
Halls Creek (S)412-8
Wanneroo (C)2129-8
Whitsunday (R)2230-8
Northern Midlands (M)917-8
Victoria Park (T)311-8
Barossa (DC)08-8
No usual address (NT)09-9
No usual address (NSW)09-9
Cockburn (C)1221-9
Corowa Shire (A)1322-9
Mount Alexander (S)2837-9
Unincorporated NT312-9
Hobart (C)1827-9
West Tamar (M)1524-9
Melton (S)5464-10
Kiama (A)010-10
Strathbogie (S)2737-10
Bundaberg (R)2636-10
Wyndham (C)7889-11
Hindmarsh (S)012-12
Botany Bay (C)012-12
Holdfast Bay (C)416-12
Broome (S)921-12
Port Hedland (T)316-13
Mackay (R)3347-14
Mount Barker (DC)620-14
Central Goldfields (S)3145-14
Queanbeyan (C)1428-14
Murray (A)1227-15
Moreton Bay (R)105120-15
Palmerston (C)2439-15
Central Highlands (R)015-15
Townsville (C)6883-15
Playford (C)319-16
No usual address (WA)320-17
Sydney (C)5572-17
Fraser Coast (R)3754-17
Newcastle (C)927-18
Western Downs (R)018-18
East Pilbara (S)018-18
North Sydney (A)625-19
Ipswich (C)2544-19
Corangamite (S)1132-21
Pyrenees (S)1435-21
Surf Coast (S)2647-21
Campaspe (S)5576-21
Kalgoorlie/Boulder (C)830-22
Mansfield (S)3861-23
Golden Plains (S)1538-23
Byron (A)1741-24
Ararat (RC)630-24
No usual address (Qld)330-27
Yarriambiack (S)936-27
Port Stephens (A)1645-29
Berrigan (A)029-29
Benalla (RC)2354-31
Mitchell (S)2960-31
No usual address (Vic.)3367-34
Cairns (R)114150-36
Gold Coast (C)234272-38
Mildura (RC)2868-40
Moyne (S)646-40
Greater Bendigo (C)105147-42
Wangaratta (RC)2164-43
Moira (S)4996-47
Warrnambool (C)1764-47
Unincorporated ACT116164-48
Rockingham (C)119169-50
Darwin (C)64114-50
Melbourne (C)243297-54
Ballarat (C)93174-81
Latrobe (C)125206-81
Bass Coast (S)125212-87
Sunshine Coast (R)166256-90
Wellington (S)87193-106
Baw Baw (S)117237-120
East Gippsland (S)121249-128
Cardinia (S)253383-130
Greater Geelong (C)89233-144
South Gippsland (S)123290-167
Show me more!

Source: Australian Bureau of Statistics, Census of Population and Housing , 2011 (Usual Residence Data). Compiled and presented in by .id , the population experts.