Shire of MorawaCommunity profile

We’re continuing to update these pages with data from the 2016 Census. Read more about our updates.

Skip to content

Shire of Morawa

About the profile areas

The 2016 Estimated Resident Population for the Shire of Morawa is 758, with a population density of 0.00 persons per hectare.

Location and boundaries

The Shire of Morawa is located in the Mid West Region of Western Australia, about 370 kilometres north of the Perth CBD. The Shire of Morawa is bounded by the City of Greater Geraldton in the north, the Shire of Yalgoo in the east, the Shire of Perenjori and the Shire of Three Springs in the south, and the Shire of Mingenew in the west.

Name origin

Morawa is named from an Aboriginal word thought to refer either to the dalgite, a small marsupial (bilby) which burrows into the earth, or meaning “the place where men are made”.

Settlement history

Settlement of the area dates primarily from the late 1800s, with land used largely for sheep and cattle grazing and timber getting. Population was minimal until the early 1900s, with the townsite of Morawa declared in 1912 and the railway line opened in 1913. Considerable growth occurred in the township during the 1920s and 1930s. Population growth resumed during the post-war years, with the population of the Shire rising from under 1,000 in 1947 to about 1,700 in 1961. Iron ore mining took place at Koolanooka between 1966 and 1974. The population declined gradually from the 1960s, falling to under 1,000 in 1991, affected by the aggregation of farms, modern farming methods and drought. The population increased marginally during the early 1990s as new dwellings were added to the area, rising to about 1,050 people in 1996. The population declined between 1996 and 2006, falling to about 800 people, a result of little change in dwelling stock and a decline in dwelling occupancy rates. The population then increased between 2006 and 2011, rising to about 950 people, mainly due to an increase in dwelling occupancy rates and the recommencement of mining at Koolanooka from 2010.

Land use
Land use 0% 0% 0% 100%

Land use

The Shire of Morawa is predominantly rural, with residential areas in the small township of Morawa (which is home to about half of the Shire’s population). Land is used largely for agriculture, particularly wheat and legume growing and sheep grazing, with some cattle grazing and mining. The Shire encompasses a total land area of about 3,500 square kilometres.


The Shire of Morawa is served by Mingenew-Morawa Road, Morawa-Three Springs Road and Mullewa-Wubin Road.

Major features

Major features of the Shire include the Morawa Town Centre, Morawa Golf Club, Koolanooka Springs, Nullewa Lake, Gnamma Hole, Bilya Rock, Canna Reserve, Morawa Greater Sports Ground, Morawa Showground, Pioneer Park, Prater Park, Morawa District Historical Society Museum, Morawa Swimming Pool, Morawa Perenjori Health Service, Western Australian College of Agriculture - Morawa and Morawa District High School.

Indigenous background

The original inhabitants of the Shire of Morawa were the Yamaji Aboriginal people.

Included areas

The Shire of Morawa includes the localities of Canna, Gutha, Koolanooka, Merkanooka, Morawa and Pintharuka.