Shire of MooraCommunity profile

2016 Census data has been released and we are busy processing it to update this website. View our latest releases here.

Skip to content

Rural Areas

About the profile areas

The 2016 Estimated Resident Population for Rural Areas is 671, with a population density of 0.00 persons per hectare.

Location and boundaries

Rural Areas is bounded by the Shire of Coorow in the north, the Shire of Dalwallinu and the Shire of Wongan-Ballidu in the east, the Shire of Victoria Plains in the south, and the locality of Moora and the Shire of Dandaragan in the west.

Settlement history

Settlement of the area dates from the early 1850s, with land used mainly for grazing and crop growing. Growth took place during the late 1800s and early 1900s, spurred by the opening of the railway line in 1894 and the establishment of the small townships of Miling and Watheroo. The population increased during the post-war years, but then declined from the 1970s. The population continued to decline between 1991 and 2011, a result of dwelling stock loss and a decline in the average number of persons living in each dwelling.

Land use

Rural Areas is a predominantly rural area which includes the small townships of Miling and Watheroo. Land is used largely for wheat farming and sheep grazing, with some cereal growing and quartz mining.

Major features

Major features of the area include Watheroo National Park, Jingemia Cave, the Coonderoo River, Moora Wildflower Drive, Berkshire Valley Mill Museum, Western Wildflower Farm, Miling Golf Club, Watheroo Golf Club, Koojan Salmon Gum Reserve, Miling Sports Ground and two schools.

Included areas

Rural Areas encompasses the localities of Barberton, Berkshire Valley, Bindi Bindi, Coomberdale, Gabalong, Koojan, Miling, Namban, Walebing and Watheroo.