Shire of MooraCommunity profile

2016 Census data has been released and we are busy processing it to update this website. View our latest releases here.

Skip to content

Shire of Moora

About the profile areas

The 2016 Estimated Resident Population for the Shire of Moora is 2,473, with a population density of 0.01 persons per hectare.

Location and boundaries

The Shire of Moora is located in the Wheatbelt Region of Western Australia, about 170 kilometres north of the Perth CBD. The Shire of Moora is bounded by the Shire of Coorow in the north, the Shire of Dalwallinu and the Shire of Wongan-Ballidu in the east, the Shire of Victoria Plains in the south, and the Shire of Dandaragan in the west.

Name origin

The Shire of Moora is named from the Aboriginal word “moora-moora”, meaning “good spirit”.

Settlement history

European settlement dates from 1846, with land used mainly for grazing and crop growing. Growth took place during the late 1800s and early 1900s, spurred by the opening of the railway line in 1894. The township of Moora developed as a major commercial and retail centre for the wider region. The population of the Shire rose to about 1,900 in 1911, and then declined to about 1,600 in 1921. The population increased during the post-war years, rising from about 2,000 in 1947 to 2,900 in 1954, and then to 3,000 in 1966. The population was relatively stable during the 1970s and early 1980s, then declined slightly to about 2,800 in 1986. The population continued to decline, falling to under 2,700 in 1991, then to under 2,600 in 2001, and to about 2,400 in 2011.

Land use
Land use 0% 0% 4% 96%

Land use

The Shire of Moora is predominantly rural, with residential areas in the township of Moora and the smaller towns of Miling and Watheroo. Land is used largely for agriculture, particularly wheat and crop growing and cattle and sheep grazing, with some horticulture and mining. The Shire encompasses a total land area of nearly 3,800 square kilometres.


The Shire of Moora is served by the Great Northern Highway.

Major features

Major features of the Shire include Watheroo National Park, Jingemia Cave, Western Wildflower Farm, Moora Wildflower Drive, Berkshire Valley Mill Museum and the Moore River.

Indigenous background

The original inhabitants of the Moora area were the Nyoongar Aboriginal people.

Included areas

The Shire of Moora includes the localities of Barberton, Berkshire Valley, Bindi Bindi, Coomberdale, Gabalong, Koojan, Miling, Moora, Namban, Walebing and Watheroo.