City of MonashCommunity profile

We’re continuing to update these pages with data from the 2016 Census. Read more about our updates.

Skip to content

City of Monash

Migration by age and location

Between 2006 and 2011, the LGA with the highest net migration to the City of Monash (+484) was from Glen Eira (C), whilst the highest net loss (-2,057) was to Knox (C).

The age structure of people who move into and out of the City of Monash is strongly influenced by the residential role and function of the area and can influence demand for particular services. For instance, inner city areas near employment, education and entertainment tend to attract many young people in their late teens and early twenties, who move out in their late twenties and thirties to start families in suburban areas. Rural areas tend to lose young people and gain older families and retirees.

Understanding the City of Monash's attraction to different age groups helps to plan services for the community as well as advocating with other levels of government and private enterprise to provide infrastructure, employment opportunities and facilities which may help to retain age groups which are otherwise leaving the area.

Derived from the Census questions:

'Where does the person usually live?' and 'Where did the person usually live five years ago (at 9 August 2006)'.

Net gains and losses by LGA
City of Monash - between 2006 and 2011
LGAIn migrationOut migrationNet migration
Glen Eira (C)2,1501,666+484
Stonnington (C)1,3981,127+271
Hobart (C)7635+41
Warrnambool (C)6323+40
Redland (C)389+29
Launceston (C)4821+27
Mildura (RC)6034+26
Parramatta (C)5127+24
Ku-ring-gai (A)4421+23
Wangaratta (RC)4624+22
Wellington (S)11190+21
Burwood (A)3110+21
Onkaparinga (C)3312+21
Wagga Wagga (C)3415+19
Wollongong (C)3318+15
Albury (C)3520+15
Buloke (S)150+15
Glenelg (S)2915+14
West Torrens (C)3521+14
Stirling (C)5339+14
Charles Sturt (C)2715+12
Loddon (S)120+12
Latrobe (C)127116+11
Indigo (S)209+11
Colac-Otway (S)2413+11
Corangamite (S)209+11
Armidale Dumaresq (A)110+11
Liverpool (C)187+11
Gladstone (R)188+10
Holdfast Bay (C)189+9
Port Lincoln (C)90+9
Manly (A)156+9
Tamworth Regional (A)123+9
Canterbury (C)2213+9
Jerilderie (A)90+9
Eurobodalla (A)123+9
Fairfield (C)123+9
Hindmarsh (S)156+9
Moyne (S)2314+9
Moonee Valley (C)143135+8
Hurstville (C)2113+8
Kalamunda (S)80+8
Rockhampton (R)80+8
Mackay (R)2013+7
Yarriambiack (S)103+7
Marion (C)2417+7
Canning (C)4841+7
Bunbury (C)70+7
George Town (M)70+7
Darwin (C)5649+7
Willoughby (C)2619+7
Swan Hill (RC)158+7
Southern Grampians (S)159+6
Central Goldfields (S)126+6
Waverley (A)126+6
Kiama (A)60+6
Blue Mountains (C)60+6
Greater Hume Shire (A)60+6
Cobar (A)60+6
Byron (A)126+6
Palmerston (C)104+6
Central Coast (M)93+6
Bassendean (T)60+6
Claremont (T)60+6
Halls Creek (S)60+6
Loxton Waikerie (DC)60+6
Ceduna (DC)60+6
Adelaide (C)2418+6
Devonport (C)94+5
Blacktown (C)4338+5
Woollahra (A)94+5
Botany Bay (C)73+4
Bankstown (C)73+4
Gannawarra (S)1713+4
Northern Midlands (M)139+4
Campbelltown (C)2117+4
Port Hedland (T)96+3
Armadale (C)96+3
Kingborough (M)1512+3
Glenorchy (C)1310+3
Subiaco (C)63+3
Greater Geelong (C)212209+3
Golden Plains (S)1512+3
Wodonga (RC)3027+3
Auburn (C)1714+3
Wentworth (A)63+3
Lane Cove (A)119+2
Greater Shepparton (C)6664+2
Nedlands (C)64+2
Logan (C)2725+2
Mitcham (C)1615+1
Melville (C)4140+1
Meander Valley (M)76+1
Joondalup (C)20200
Whitsunday (R)660
Moreton Bay (R)45450
Ararat (RC)660
Ashfield (A)660
Strathfield (A)660
Lismore (C)12120
Tweed (A)16160
Penrith (C)12120
Pittwater (A)660
Mosman (A)67-1
Sutherland Shire (A)1819-1
Holroyd (C)1516-1
Hume (C)112113-1
Ipswich (C)1011-1
Bayswater (C)1112-1
Tea Tree Gully (C)1213-1
Unley (C)1213-1
Mount Gambier (C)68-2
Huon Valley (M)57-2
Horsham (RC)2022-2
East Gippsland (S)8183-2
Gosford (C)1315-2
Lake Macquarie (C)1618-2
Great Lakes (A)47-3
Bellingen (A)36-3
Campbelltown (C)912-3
Wyong (A)36-3
Muswellbrook (A)36-3
Queanbeyan (C)36-3
Vincent (T)47-3
West Tamar (M)36-3
Broome (S)36-3
Kalgoorlie/Boulder (C)36-3
Southern Downs (R)36-3
Alexandrina (DC)37-4
Burnside (C)1418-4
Roebourne (S)711-4
Randwick (C)3135-4
Ryde (C)1822-4
Newcastle (C)2832-4
Leichhardt (A)812-4
Coffs Harbour (C)1520-5
Berrigan (A)712-5
North Sydney (A)2328-5
Nambucca (A)38-5
Rockdale (C)611-5
Strathbogie (S)1217-5
Norwood Payneham St Peters (C)1015-5
Walkerville (M)39-6
Prospect (C)06-6
Cambridge (T)06-6
Whyalla (C)06-6
Kwinana (T)06-6
Mandurah (C)06-6
Derby-West Kimberley (S)06-6
East Pilbara (S)06-6
Gosnells (C)2228-6
No usual address (Qld)06-6
Isaac (R)06-6
Gympie (R)06-6
Scenic Rim (R)06-6
Cassowary Coast (R)06-6
Wagait (S)06-6
Litchfield (M)06-6
Waratah/Wynyard (M)410-6
Northern Grampians (S)1016-6
Shoalhaven (C)612-6
Murray (A)06-6
Ballina (A)06-6
Corowa Shire (A)39-6
Kogarah (C)39-6
Benalla (RC)1825-7
Unincorporated NT07-7
Swan (C)714-7
Toowoomba (R)2532-7
Grant (DC)07-7
Murray (S)07-7
Belmont (C)715-8
Sorell (M)08-8
Queenscliffe (B)311-8
Hornsby (A)2533-8
Alpine (S)917-8
Port Macquarie-Hastings (A)615-9
South Perth (C)817-9
No usual address (WA)09-9
Central Highlands (R)09-9
Cottesloe (T)313-10
No usual address (NT)010-10
Port Stephens (A)919-10
Marrickville (A)717-10
No usual address (NSW)010-10
Towong (S)010-10
South Gippsland (S)7485-11
Campaspe (S)2334-11
Alice Springs (T)314-11
Mount Barker (DC)011-11
Port Adelaide Enfield (C)2234-12
Cockburn (C)1022-12
Hepburn (S)1628-12
Cairns (R)5063-13
Clarence (C)1124-13
Wanneroo (C)1529-14
Bundaberg (R)317-14
Darebin (C)246260-14
Pyrenees (S)317-14
Murrindindi (S)2135-14
The Hills Shire (A)4963-14
Warringah (A)1529-14
Bega Valley (A)1933-14
Rockingham (C)622-16
Greater Bendigo (C)110127-17
Victoria Park (T)927-18
Moorabool (S)1332-19
Moira (S)1838-20
Fraser Coast (R)1333-20
Perth (C)425-21
Macedon Ranges (S)3657-21
Mitchell (S)2649-23
Canada Bay (A)1538-23
Sydney (C)4771-24
Salisbury (C)334-31
Mount Alexander (S)1043-33
Mansfield (S)942-33
Surf Coast (S)3878-40
Maribyrnong (C)147190-43
Boroondara (C)1,5051,551-46
Moreland (C)283334-51
No usual address (Vic.)1264-52
Ballarat (C)111166-55
Sunshine Coast (R)2887-59
Brimbank (C)183247-64
Hobsons Bay (C)85150-65
Nillumbik (S)3297-65
Townsville (C)1784-67
Baw Baw (S)93163-70
Bass Coast (S)73151-78
Port Phillip (C)572664-92
Gold Coast (C)98200-102
Whittlesea (C)104224-120
Melton (S)60191-131
Brisbane (C)268403-135
Banyule (C)115269-154
Yarra (C)279439-160
Unincorporated ACT122288-166
Melbourne (C)552732-180
Bayside (C)290495-205
Manningham (C)328533-205
Yarra Ranges (S)332544-212
Maroondah (C)264598-334
Cardinia (S)188573-385
Frankston (C)292685-393
Mornington Peninsula (S)214644-430
Greater Dandenong (C)1,7382,169-431
Wyndham (C)133690-557
Whitehorse (C)1,6012,284-683
Kingston (C)1,1171,886-769
Casey (C)1,2443,243-1,999
Knox (C)1,6303,687-2,057
Show me more!

Source: Australian Bureau of Statistics, Census of Population and Housing , 2011 (Usual Residence Data). Compiled and presented in by .id , the population experts.