City of MonashCommunity profile

We’re continuing to update these pages with data from the 2016 Census. Read more about our updates.

Skip to content

City of Monash

Migration by age and location

Between 2006 and 2011, the LGA with the highest net migration to the City of Monash (+484) was from Glen Eira (C), whilst the highest net loss (-2,057) was to Knox (C).

The age structure of people who move into and out of the City of Monash is strongly influenced by the residential role and function of the area and can influence demand for particular services. For instance, inner city areas near employment, education and entertainment tend to attract many young people in their late teens and early twenties, who move out in their late twenties and thirties to start families in suburban areas. Rural areas tend to lose young people and gain older families and retirees.

Understanding the City of Monash's attraction to different age groups helps to plan services for the community as well as advocating with other levels of government and private enterprise to provide infrastructure, employment opportunities and facilities which may help to retain age groups which are otherwise leaving the area.

Derived from the Census questions:

'Where does the person usually live?' and 'Where did the person usually live five years ago (at 9 August 2006)'.

Net gains and losses by LGA
City of Monash - between 2006 and 2011
LGAIn migrationOut migrationNet migration
Glen Eira (C)2,1501,666+484
Stonnington (C)1,3981,127+271
Hobart (C)7635+41
Warrnambool (C)6323+40
Redland (C)389+29
Launceston (C)4821+27
Mildura (RC)6034+26
Parramatta (C)5127+24
Ku-ring-gai (A)4421+23
Wangaratta (RC)4624+22
Burwood (A)3110+21
Onkaparinga (C)3312+21
Wellington (S)11190+21
Wagga Wagga (C)3415+19
Albury (C)3520+15
Wollongong (C)3318+15
Buloke (S)150+15
Stirling (C)5339+14
West Torrens (C)3521+14
Glenelg (S)2915+14
Loddon (S)120+12
Charles Sturt (C)2715+12
Colac-Otway (S)2413+11
Liverpool (C)187+11
Indigo (S)209+11
Corangamite (S)209+11
Armidale Dumaresq (A)110+11
Latrobe (C)127116+11
Gladstone (R)188+10
Holdfast Bay (C)189+9
Eurobodalla (A)123+9
Tamworth Regional (A)123+9
Port Lincoln (C)90+9
Fairfield (C)123+9
Hindmarsh (S)156+9
Manly (A)156+9
Jerilderie (A)90+9
Moyne (S)2314+9
Canterbury (C)2213+9
Rockhampton (R)80+8
Hurstville (C)2113+8
Kalamunda (S)80+8
Moonee Valley (C)143135+8
Willoughby (C)2619+7
Yarriambiack (S)103+7
Swan Hill (RC)158+7
Darwin (C)5649+7
George Town (M)70+7
Bunbury (C)70+7
Mackay (R)2013+7
Marion (C)2417+7
Canning (C)4841+7
Waverley (A)126+6
Ceduna (DC)60+6
Bassendean (T)60+6
Halls Creek (S)60+6
Byron (A)126+6
Greater Hume Shire (A)60+6
Central Goldfields (S)126+6
Cobar (A)60+6
Kiama (A)60+6
Claremont (T)60+6
Southern Grampians (S)159+6
Blue Mountains (C)60+6
Central Coast (M)93+6
Adelaide (C)2418+6
Loxton Waikerie (DC)60+6
Palmerston (C)104+6
Devonport (C)94+5
Woollahra (A)94+5
Blacktown (C)4338+5
Gannawarra (S)1713+4
Northern Midlands (M)139+4
Bankstown (C)73+4
Campbelltown (C)2117+4
Botany Bay (C)73+4
Wentworth (A)63+3
Glenorchy (C)1310+3
Auburn (C)1714+3
Golden Plains (S)1512+3
Port Hedland (T)96+3
Armadale (C)96+3
Kingborough (M)1512+3
Wodonga (RC)3027+3
Greater Geelong (C)212209+3
Subiaco (C)63+3
Logan (C)2725+2
Lane Cove (A)119+2
Greater Shepparton (C)6664+2
Nedlands (C)64+2
Meander Valley (M)76+1
Mitcham (C)1615+1
Melville (C)4140+1
Pittwater (A)660
Penrith (C)12120
Tweed (A)16160
Lismore (C)12120
Ararat (RC)660
Joondalup (C)20200
Moreton Bay (R)45450
Ashfield (A)660
Whitsunday (R)660
Strathfield (A)660
Holroyd (C)1516-1
Ipswich (C)1011-1
Bayswater (C)1112-1
Unley (C)1213-1
Sutherland Shire (A)1819-1
Tea Tree Gully (C)1213-1
Hume (C)112113-1
Mosman (A)67-1
Lake Macquarie (C)1618-2
East Gippsland (S)8183-2
Gosford (C)1315-2
Huon Valley (M)57-2
Mount Gambier (C)68-2
Horsham (RC)2022-2
Great Lakes (A)47-3
Queanbeyan (C)36-3
West Tamar (M)36-3
Campbelltown (C)912-3
Wyong (A)36-3
Muswellbrook (A)36-3
Vincent (T)47-3
Bellingen (A)36-3
Kalgoorlie/Boulder (C)36-3
Broome (S)36-3
Southern Downs (R)36-3
Leichhardt (A)812-4
Ryde (C)1822-4
Alexandrina (DC)37-4
Burnside (C)1418-4
Newcastle (C)2832-4
Randwick (C)3135-4
Roebourne (S)711-4
Nambucca (A)38-5
Norwood Payneham St Peters (C)1015-5
Rockdale (C)611-5
Coffs Harbour (C)1520-5
Berrigan (A)712-5
North Sydney (A)2328-5
Strathbogie (S)1217-5
Whyalla (C)06-6
Isaac (R)06-6
Cambridge (T)06-6
Wagait (S)06-6
Walkerville (M)39-6
Litchfield (M)06-6
Ballina (A)06-6
Kwinana (T)06-6
Derby-West Kimberley (S)06-6
No usual address (Qld)06-6
Waratah/Wynyard (M)410-6
Mandurah (C)06-6
Shoalhaven (C)612-6
Northern Grampians (S)1016-6
Prospect (C)06-6
Gosnells (C)2228-6
Murray (A)06-6
Corowa Shire (A)39-6
East Pilbara (S)06-6
Gympie (R)06-6
Scenic Rim (R)06-6
Cassowary Coast (R)06-6
Kogarah (C)39-6
Swan (C)714-7
Unincorporated NT07-7
Murray (S)07-7
Toowoomba (R)2532-7
Benalla (RC)1825-7
Grant (DC)07-7
Alpine (S)917-8
Hornsby (A)2533-8
Belmont (C)715-8
Queenscliffe (B)311-8
Sorell (M)08-8
Port Macquarie-Hastings (A)615-9
South Perth (C)817-9
Central Highlands (R)09-9
No usual address (WA)09-9
No usual address (NSW)010-10
Towong (S)010-10
Cottesloe (T)313-10
Marrickville (A)717-10
No usual address (NT)010-10
Port Stephens (A)919-10
Campaspe (S)2334-11
Mount Barker (DC)011-11
Alice Springs (T)314-11
South Gippsland (S)7485-11
Hepburn (S)1628-12
Cockburn (C)1022-12
Port Adelaide Enfield (C)2234-12
Cairns (R)5063-13
Clarence (C)1124-13
Bega Valley (A)1933-14
Pyrenees (S)317-14
Darebin (C)246260-14
Warringah (A)1529-14
Bundaberg (R)317-14
Wanneroo (C)1529-14
Murrindindi (S)2135-14
The Hills Shire (A)4963-14
Rockingham (C)622-16
Greater Bendigo (C)110127-17
Victoria Park (T)927-18
Moorabool (S)1332-19
Fraser Coast (R)1333-20
Moira (S)1838-20
Macedon Ranges (S)3657-21
Perth (C)425-21
Canada Bay (A)1538-23
Mitchell (S)2649-23
Sydney (C)4771-24
Salisbury (C)334-31
Mansfield (S)942-33
Mount Alexander (S)1043-33
Surf Coast (S)3878-40
Maribyrnong (C)147190-43
Boroondara (C)1,5051,551-46
Moreland (C)283334-51
No usual address (Vic.)1264-52
Ballarat (C)111166-55
Sunshine Coast (R)2887-59
Brimbank (C)183247-64
Hobsons Bay (C)85150-65
Nillumbik (S)3297-65
Townsville (C)1784-67
Baw Baw (S)93163-70
Bass Coast (S)73151-78
Port Phillip (C)572664-92
Gold Coast (C)98200-102
Whittlesea (C)104224-120
Melton (S)60191-131
Brisbane (C)268403-135
Banyule (C)115269-154
Yarra (C)279439-160
Unincorporated ACT122288-166
Melbourne (C)552732-180
Manningham (C)328533-205
Bayside (C)290495-205
Yarra Ranges (S)332544-212
Maroondah (C)264598-334
Cardinia (S)188573-385
Frankston (C)292685-393
Mornington Peninsula (S)214644-430
Greater Dandenong (C)1,7382,169-431
Wyndham (C)133690-557
Whitehorse (C)1,6012,284-683
Kingston (C)1,1171,886-769
Casey (C)1,2443,243-1,999
Knox (C)1,6303,687-2,057
Show me more!

Source: Australian Bureau of Statistics, Census of Population and Housing , 2011 (Usual Residence Data). Compiled and presented in by .id , the population experts.