City of MitchamCommunity profile

We’re continuing to update these pages with data from the 2016 Census. Read more about our updates.

Skip to content

City of Mitcham

Migration by age and location

Between 2006 and 2011, the LGA with the highest net migration to the City of Mitcham (+287) was from Unley (C), whilst the highest net loss (-386) was to Onkaparinga (C).

The age structure of people who move into and out of the City of Mitcham is strongly influenced by the residential role and function of the area and can influence demand for particular services. For instance, inner city areas near employment, education and entertainment tend to attract many young people in their late teens and early twenties, who move out in their late twenties and thirties to start families in suburban areas. Rural areas tend to lose young people and gain older families and retirees.

Understanding the City of Mitcham's attraction to different age groups helps to plan services for the community as well as advocating with other levels of government and private enterprise to provide infrastructure, employment opportunities and facilities which may help to retain age groups which are otherwise leaving the area.

Derived from the Census questions:

'Where does the person usually live?' and 'Where did the person usually live five years ago (at 9 August 2006)'.

Net gains and losses by LGA
City of Mitcham - between 2006 and 2011
LGAIn migrationOut migrationNet migration
Unley (C)1,4491,162+287
Darwin (C)12272+50
Whyalla (C)6119+42
Mount Gambier (C)8746+41
Mildura (RC)5821+37
Loxton Waikerie (DC)397+32
Alice Springs (T)6030+30
Port Pirie City and Dists (M)5529+26
Naracoorte and Lucindale (DC)304+26
Albury (C)250+25
Renmark Paringa (DC)240+24
Port Lincoln (C)6441+23
Campbelltown (C)188166+22
Gawler (T)286+22
Wattle Range (DC)309+21
Hobart (C)3110+21
Litchfield (M)210+21
Berri and Barmera (DC)3112+19
Brimbank (C)180+18
Bayside (C)236+17
Willoughby (C)248+16
Tatiara (DC)2610+16
Port Augusta (C)3722+15
Mid Murray (DC)2714+13
Manningham (C)2512+13
Byron (A)130+13
Penrith (C)120+12
Manly (A)120+12
Marrickville (A)2412+12
Wentworth (A)120+12
Horsham (RC)120+12
Broken Hill (C)2413+11
Flinders Ranges (DC)110+11
Lake Macquarie (C)176+11
Hindmarsh (S)110+11
Grant (DC)2312+11
Roxby Downs (M)2212+10
Wakefield (DC)188+10
Ashfield (A)156+9
Northern Grampians (S)90+9
Mount Isa (C)90+9
Leichhardt (A)189+9
Tea Tree Gully (C)168159+9
Liverpool (C)156+9
Canterbury (C)90+9
Orange (C)156+9
Warringah (A)123+9
Robe (DC)123+9
Kwinana (T)90+9
Northern Areas (DC)157+8
Southern Mallee (DC)80+8
Waratah/Wynyard (M)124+8
Kingston (DC)113+8
Tumby Bay (DC)80+8
Lane Cove (A)80+8
Palmerston (C)2012+8
Blue Mountains (C)70+7
Casey (C)136+7
Yorke Peninsula (DC)3326+7
Halls Creek (S)70+7
Karoonda East Murray (DC)60+6
Kimba (DC)60+6
Waverley (A)126+6
Victoria-Daly (S)60+6
Mallala (DC)93+6
Broome (S)1812+6
Shoalhaven (C)60+6
Wudinna (DC)60+6
South Burnett (R)60+6
Southern Grampians (S)93+6
Glenelg (S)139+4
Woollahra (A)128+4
Geraldton-Greenough (C)95+4
Logan (C)2218+4
Rockhampton (R)106+4
Subiaco (C)84+4
Greater Geraldton95+4
Hawkesbury (C)63+3
Mount Remarkable (DC)96+3
Moorabool (S)63+3
Yarra Ranges (S)63+3
Bathurst Regional (A)63+3
Blacktown (C)118+3
Queanbeyan (C)96+3
Toowoomba (R)63+3
Yankalilla (DC)3129+2
Clare and Gilbert Valleys (DC)2422+2
Warrnambool (C)64+2
Mornington Peninsula (S)2220+2
The Coorong (DC)1311+2
Clarence (C)76+1
Darebin (C)2726+1
Glen Eira (C)1918+1
Elliston (DC)65+1
Barossa (DC)53530
Gosford (C)770
Maribyrnong (C)12120
Townsville (C)18180
Ku-ring-gai (A)13130
Bayswater (C)67-1
Newcastle (C)910-1
Monash (C)1516-1
Canning (C)1213-1
Wollongong (C)1819-1
Kalamunda (S)67-1
Ryde (C)68-2
Murray Bridge (RC)4244-2
Whitehorse (C)2325-2
Coffs Harbour (C)36-3
Melville (C)2528-3
Coober Pedy (DC)69-3
Lismore (C)36-3
Swan (C)36-3
Unincorporated NT36-3
Huon Valley (M)36-3
Ipswich (C)36-3
Sydney (C)3438-4
Mackay (R)611-5
Albany (C)38-5
Sutherland Shire (A)49-5
Canada Bay (A)1318-5
Port Stephens (A)38-5
Claremont (T)06-6
Latrobe (C)06-6
Parramatta (C)1117-6
Nillumbik (S)410-6
Cairns (R)2430-6
Lower Eyre Peninsula (DC)612-6
East Pilbara (S)06-6
Cabonne (A)06-6
Belmont (C)06-6
Goyder (DC)06-6
Kempsey (A)06-6
Bundaberg (R)06-6
Central Highlands (R)06-6
Redland (C)915-6
Mosman (A)06-6
Yass Valley (A)06-6
Bega Valley (A)06-6
Banyule (C)39-6
Lockyer Valley (R)06-6
Burnside (C)552558-6
Barunga West (DC)713-6
Greater Dandenong (C)07-7
Hurstville (C)07-7
Tweed (A)310-7
Norwood Payneham St Peters (C)309316-7
Perth (C)07-7
Eurobodalla (A)613-7
Playford (C)5663-7
Fremantle (C)08-8
Joondalup (C)1018-8
Snowy River (A)08-8
North Sydney (A)513-8
Light (RegC)1826-8
Armadale (C)08-8
Maroondah (C)1221-9
Greater Bendigo (C)615-9
Copper Coast (DC)2332-9
Moonee Valley (C)918-9
Frankston (C)09-9
Mandurah (C)09-9
Prospect (C)110120-10
West Torrens (C)527537-10
Unincorporated SA1020-10
Rockdale (C)010-10
Kingborough (M)313-10
Ballarat (C)011-11
Randwick (C)1223-11
Hornsby (A)1223-11
Melton (S)718-11
Stonnington (C)1728-11
The Hills Shire (A)1224-12
Kingston (C)012-12
Nedlands (C)012-12
Anangu Pitjantjatjara (AC)012-12
Hobsons Bay (C)012-12
Wyndham (C)620-14
Rockingham (C)1025-15
South Perth (C)015-15
Kentish (M)015-15
Wagga Wagga (C)015-15
Greater Geelong (C)622-16
Launceston (C)320-17
Fraser Coast (R)320-17
Walkerville (M)3555-20
Melbourne (C)1839-21
Moreland (C)1539-24
Stirling (C)1238-26
Port Phillip (C)1844-26
Gold Coast (C)4775-28
Yarra (C)1343-30
No usual address (SA)638-32
Moreton Bay (R)2457-33
Adelaide Hills (DC)348386-38
Sunshine Coast (R)2161-40
Salisbury (C)137178-41
Boroondara (C)3381-48
Port Adelaide Enfield (C)272326-54
Unincorporated ACT86141-55
Victor Harbor (C)38101-63
Brisbane (C)120184-64
Alexandrina (DC)114190-76
Charles Sturt (C)310391-81
Adelaide (C)197294-97
Mount Barker (DC)140314-174
Marion (C)1,3411,544-203
Holdfast Bay (C)310584-274
Onkaparinga (C)1,4801,866-386
Show me more!

Source: Australian Bureau of Statistics, Census of Population and Housing , 2011 (Usual Residence Data). Compiled and presented in by .id , the population experts.