City of MitchamCommunity profile

We’re continuing to update these pages with data from the 2016 Census. Read more about our updates.

Skip to content

North - East Region

About the profile areas

The 2016 Estimated Resident Population for North - East Region is 22,586, with a population density of 9.25 persons per hectare.

Location and boundaries

North - East Region is bounded by Cross Road, Mount Barker Road and the South Eastern Freeway in the north, the Adelaide Hills Council area in the east, Sheoak Road, the suburb of Belair, Belair Road, the railway line, Strathcona Avenue and Springbank Road in the south and Strathcona Avenue, Springbank Road, Goodwood Road, Corunna Avenue, Winston Avenue, Richmond Avenue, Penang Avenue and Goodwood Road in the west.

Settlement history

Settlement of the area dates from the late 1830s, with land used mainly for farming, grazing and timber-getting. In 1840 the village of Mitcham was established near Brown Hill Creek, being one of the oldest European settlements in South Australia. Growth was minimal until the 1880s and 1890s, spurred by the opening of the railway line. Significant development occurred during the 1910s and 1920s. Some growth (mainly infill) continued in the post-war years, particularly during the 1950s and 1960s. The population and dwelling stock have been relatively stable since the early 1990s.

Land use

North - East Region is a residential and rural area, with parklands and some institutional land use.

Major features

Major features of the Region include TAFE SA (Urrbrae Campus), The University of Adelaide (Waite Campus), Waite Agricultural Research Institute, South Australian Research & Development Institute (SARDI), Mitcham Square Shopping Centre, St Paul’s Retreat Monastery, Waite Arboretum, Randell Park, Scotch College Adelaide, Mercedes College, Urrbrae Agricultural High School and numerous other schools.

Included areas

North - East Region includes the suburbs and localities of Brown Hill Creek, Clapham, Colonial Light Gardens, Crafers West (part), Hawthorn, Kingswood, Leawood Gardens (part), Lower Mitcham, Lynton, Mitcham, Netherby, Springfield, Torrens Park, Urrbrae and Westbourne Park.