Hume City CouncilCommunity profile

We’re continuing to update these pages with data from the 2016 Census. Read more about our updates.

Skip to content

Hume City

SEIFA - disadvantage by Local Government Area

In 2011, Hume City scored 951.8 on the SEIFA Index of Disadvantage.

Hume City SEIFA Index of Disadvantage measures the relative level of socio-economic disadvantage based on a range of Census characteristics. It is a good place to start to get a general view of the relative level of disadvantage in one area compared to others and is used to advocate for an area based on its level of disadvantage.

The index is derived from attributes that reflect disadvantage such as low income, low educational attainment, high unemployment, and jobs in relatively unskilled occupations.  When targeting services to disadvantaged communities, it is important to also look at these underlying characteristics as they can differ markedly between areas with similar SEIFA scores and shed light on the type of disadvantage being experienced.

A higher score on the index means a lower level of disadvantage. A lower score on the index means a higher level of disadvantage.

Index of Relative Socio-economic Disadvantage
Local Government Areas in Victoria
Local Government Area2011 index
Nillumbik (S)1,098.3
Boroondara (C)1,097.6
Bayside (C)1,091.1
Stonnington (C)1,083.7
Manningham (C)1,071.4
Glen Eira (C)1,069.4
Surf Coast (S)1,066.5
Port Phillip (C)1,065.7
Macedon Ranges (S)1,055.1
Queenscliffe (B)1,053.2
Whitehorse (C)1,051.2
Knox (C)1,049.3
Banyule (C)1,047.4
Monash (C)1,044.9
Maroondah (C)1,043.9
Kingston (C)1,037.7
Yarra Ranges (S)1,037.1
Golden Plains (S)1,030.1
Moonee Valley (C)1,027.1
Melbourne (C)1,025.8
Cardinia (S)1,024.3
Mornington Peninsula (S)1,022.5
Yarra (C)1,019.1
Unincorporated Vic1,019.0
Moyne (S)1,017.3
Wyndham (C)1,013.4
Mansfield (S)1,012.1
Indigo (S)1,009.8
Moorabool (S)1,008.5
Casey (C)1,006.5
Melton (S)1,002.1
Hobsons Bay (C)1,001.7
South Gippsland (S)999.5
Baw Baw (S)998.1
Moreland (C)998.1
Murrindindi (S)997.2
Frankston (C)996.7
Mitchell (S)996.1
Towong (S)995.9
Southern Grampians (S)994.5
Greater Geelong (C)992.9
Darebin (C)990.3
Whittlesea (C)988.6
Warrnambool (C)988.6
Horsham (RC)987.4
Alpine (S)986.9
Corangamite (S)986.1
West Wimmera (S)985.6
Mount Alexander (S)983.3
Greater Bendigo (C)983.1
Wangaratta (RC)981.1
Ballarat (C)980.8
Hepburn (S)979.6
Bass Coast (S)977.5
Wodonga (RC)974.7
Wellington (S)974.1
Maribyrnong (C)974.0
Strathbogie (S)970.2
Buloke (S)967.7
Colac-Otway (S)964.6
Campaspe (S)964.1
Glenelg (S)960.2
Gannawarra (S)958.8
East Gippsland (S)958.2
Benalla (RC)957.2
Moira (S)952.4
Yarriambiack (S)952.4
Greater Shepparton (C)951.9
Hume (C)951.8
Ararat (RC)950.5
Swan Hill (RC)949.8
Hindmarsh (S)946.6
Pyrenees (S)939.9
Latrobe (C)939.7
Northern Grampians (S)937.6
Mildura (RC)935.0
Loddon (S)934.1
Brimbank (C)925.8
Central Goldfields (S)904.6
Greater Dandenong (C)894.9
Show me more!

Source: Australian Bureau of Statistics, Census of Population and Housing 2011. Compiled and presented in by .id , the population experts.