Gosford City CouncilCommunity profile

2016 Census data will be released soon and we're busy behind the scenes getting this website ready. Read our plan.

Skip to content

Gosford City

Migration by age and location

Between 2006 and 2011, the LGA with the highest net migration to Gosford City (+709) was from Hornsby (A), whilst the highest net loss (-1,645) was to Wyong (A).

The age structure of people who move into and out of Gosford City is strongly influenced by the residential role and function of the area and can influence demand for particular services. For instance, inner city areas near employment, education and entertainment tend to attract many young people in their late teens and early twenties, who move out in their late twenties and thirties to start families in suburban areas. Rural areas tend to lose young people and gain older families and retirees.

Understanding Gosford City's attraction to different age groups helps to plan services for the community as well as advocating with other levels of government and private enterprise to provide infrastructure, employment opportunities and facilities which may help to retain age groups which are otherwise leaving the area.

Derived from the Census questions:

'Where does the person usually live?' and 'Where did the person usually live five years ago (at 9 August 2006)'.

Net gains and losses by LGA
Gosford City - between 2006 and 2011
LGAIn migrationOut migrationNet migration
Hornsby (A)1,370661+709
Warringah (A)924321+603
Blacktown (C)710202+508
The Hills Shire (A)592234+358
Penrith (C)470130+340
Pittwater (A)430126+304
Parramatta (C)485199+286
Ryde (C)436193+243
Bankstown (C)26877+191
Holroyd (C)21760+157
Fairfield (C)20145+156
Sutherland Shire (A)306160+146
Campbelltown (C)20870+138
Randwick (C)368250+118
Canterbury (C)17154+117
Liverpool (C)20095+105
Canada Bay (A)225132+93
Blue Mountains (C)197106+91
Ku-ring-gai (A)378292+86
Hawkesbury (C)17087+83
Leichhardt (A)202127+75
Rockdale (C)15381+72
Waverley (A)163102+61
Manly (A)11555+60
Willoughby (C)195146+49
Lane Cove (A)14598+47
Woollahra (A)12380+43
Kogarah (C)7635+41
Auburn (C)8246+36
Hurstville (C)9358+35
Wollondilly (A)5931+28
Yarra Ranges (S)280+28
Goulburn Mulwaree (A)4217+25
Ashfield (A)10379+24
Mosman (A)8157+24
Burwood (A)5937+22
Wingecarribee (A)7655+21
Strathfield (A)5940+19
Camden (A)6042+18
Gladstone (R)259+16
Young (A)160+16
Alice Springs (T)2913+16
Holdfast Bay (C)140+14
Dubbo (C)7561+14
Muswellbrook (A)4531+14
Fremantle (C)130+13
Casey (C)2512+13
Maroondah (C)153+12
Marrickville (A)240228+12
Mildura (RC)165+11
Nillumbik (S)100+10
Gosnells (C)133+10
Kingborough (M)2111+10
Narromine (A)100+10
Baw Baw (S)100+10
Lithgow (C)4334+9
Bland (A)123+9
Meander Valley (M)90+9
Kalamunda (S)123+9
Mundaring (S)90+9
Perth (C)90+9
Burdekin (S)123+9
Hepburn (S)80+8
Leeton (A)179+8
Shellharbour (C)3830+8
Port Phillip (C)4033+7
Mitchell (S)103+7
Aurukun (S)70+7
Warrnambool (C)60+6
Carpentaria (S)60+6
Central Highlands (R)93+6
Hinchinbrook (S)60+6
Swan Hill (RC)60+6
Hume (C)159+6
Glenelg (S)60+6
Swan (C)104+6
Mount Barker (DC)60+6
Tea Tree Gully (C)60+6
West Torrens (C)60+6
Augusta-Margaret River (S)60+6
Alpine (S)60+6
Tumut Shire (A)137+6
Guyra (A)60+6
Gwydir (A)60+6
Bega Valley (A)4943+6
Berrigan (A)83+5
Knox (C)2015+5
Scenic Rim (R)1914+5
Latrobe (C)73+4
Greater Geelong (C)3935+4
Adelaide Hills (DC)73+4
Bogan (A)106+4
Broken Hill (C)2319+4
Deniliquin (A)73+4
Ballarat (C)106+4
Parkes (A)2319+4
Oberon (A)129+3
Bayside (C)96+3
Cootamundra (A)63+3
Blayney (A)1613+3
Ashburton (S)96+3
Busselton (S)74+3
Canning (C)129+3
Murray (S)63+3
Mandurah (C)2119+2
Clarence (C)1917+2
Broome (S)97+2
Armadale (C)64+2
Monash (C)1513+2
Greater Bendigo (C)1816+2
Southern Downs (R)1412+2
Botany Bay (C)5755+2
Cobar (A)97+2
Forbes (A)1110+1
Glen Innes Severn (A)109+1
Salisbury (C)109+1
Launceston (C)1413+1
Glenorchy (C)1514+1
Katherine (T)109+1
Mitcham (C)770
Moira (S)770
Kingston (C)990
Gunnedah (A)21210
Lachlan (A)15150
Hunters Hill (A)37370
Coonamble (A)10100
Albury (C)42420
Moree Plains (A)660
Uralla (A)67-1
Dungog (A)2021-1
Port Adelaide Enfield (C)910-1
Campbelltown (C)56-1
Tablelands (R)79-2
Melville (C)1214-2
Frankston (C)1618-2
Kyogle (A)46-2
Wakool (A)46-2
Unincorporated NT1012-2
Waratah/Wynyard (M)69-3
Banyule (C)1518-3
Murrumbidgee (A)36-3
Gilgandra (A)36-3
Cardinia (S)36-3
East Gippsland (S)36-3
Hobsons Bay (C)69-3
Lockyer Valley (R)912-3
Huon Valley (M)36-3
Devonport (C)47-3
Rockhampton (R)1316-3
Belmont (C)47-3
South Perth (C)711-4
Manjimup (S)37-4
Cairns (R)7276-4
Cowra (A)2630-4
Griffith (C)1115-4
Tenterfield (A)610-4
Subiaco (C)48-4
West Tamar (M)49-5
MacDonnell (S)38-5
Orange (C)7277-5
Wodonga (RC)1217-5
Kalgoorlie/Boulder (C)49-5
Greater Geraldton39-6
Geraldton-Greenough (C)39-6
Bayswater (C)39-6
Vincent (T)06-6
Kentish (M)06-6
Boddington (S)06-6
Wattle Range (DC)06-6
Peterborough (DC)06-6
Playford (C)511-6
Wellington (S)410-6
Mornington Peninsula (S)3440-6
Gympie (R)39-6
North Burnett (R)06-6
Indigo (S)06-6
Golden Plains (S)06-6
Wangaratta (RC)06-6
Narrandera (A)39-6
Upper Lachlan Shire (A)06-6
Walcha (A)06-6
Benalla (RC)06-6
Wentworth (A)06-6
Wollongong (C)98104-6
Brewarrina (A)06-6
Sorell (M)612-6
Bellingen (A)2330-7
Bourke (A)613-7
Mid-Western Regional (A)5259-7
Shoalhaven (C)96103-7
Richmond (S)07-7
Charles Sturt (C)310-7
Bunbury (C)07-7
Serpentine-Jarrahdale (S)07-7
Toowoomba (R)3745-8
Glen Eira (C)412-8
Narrabri (A)2129-8
Carrathool (A)09-9
Central Darling (A)09-9
Moonee Valley (C)312-9
Melbourne (C)918-9
Macedon Ranges (S)312-9
Cassowary Coast (R)09-9
Whitehorse (C)615-9
Whitsunday (R)3039-9
Bassendean (T)09-9
Northern Midlands (M)312-9
Palmerston (C)09-9
Wanneroo (C)1626-10
Cockburn (C)1929-10
Yass Valley (A)919-10
Cabonne (A)1222-10
Boroondara (C)1323-10
Bass Coast (S)011-11
Palerang (A)617-11
Manningham (C)314-11
No usual address (WA)011-11
Burnie (C)011-11
Hobart (C)1223-11
Joondalup (C)2435-11
Roebourne (S)719-12
Goondiwindi (R)012-12
Litchfield (M)719-12
Wyndham (C)1831-13
Melton (S)013-13
Colac-Otway (S)013-13
Darebin (C)922-13
Clarence Valley (A)89102-13
Richmond Valley (A)1731-14
Whittlesea (C)620-14
Mount Isa (C)014-14
East Pilbara (S)014-14
Yarra (C)1732-15
Warren (A)015-15
Gloucester (A)1530-15
No usual address (NT)015-15
Kiama (A)1430-16
Walgett (A)319-16
Mackay (R)1531-16
Stonnington (C)925-16
Unley (C)016-16
Ipswich (C)4562-17
Eurobodalla (A)4562-17
Armidale Dumaresq (A)3249-17
Bathurst Regional (A)7694-18
Wagga Wagga (C)5674-18
Liverpool Plains (A)1230-18
Wellington (A)1332-19
Coffs Harbour (C)132151-19
Warrumbungle Shire (A)1030-20
Upper Hunter Shire (A)2747-20
Queanbeyan (C)2141-20
Fraser Coast (R)4060-20
Moreland (C)1232-20
Maribyrnong (C)626-20
Marion (C)022-22
Inverell (A)426-22
Port Hedland (T)024-24
Redland (C)4872-24
Stirling (C)2551-26
Maitland (C)112140-28
Snowy River (A)1443-29
Singleton (A)3060-30
No usual address (Qld)333-30
Onkaparinga (C)1850-32
Darwin (C)2860-32
Rockingham (C)1353-40
Lismore (C)2062-42
Byron (A)2164-43
Logan (C)4790-43
North Sydney (A)233277-44
Kempsey (A)5096-46
Bundaberg (R)958-49
Tamworth Regional (A)56106-50
Port Stephens (A)123174-51
Ballina (A)2576-51
Nambucca (A)3085-55
Townsville (C)3091-61
Greater Taree (C)117180-63
Tweed (A)104169-65
Moreton Bay (R)105174-69
Unincorporated ACT215286-71
Sydney (C)436514-78
No usual address (NSW)34129-95
Port Macquarie-Hastings (A)133230-97
Great Lakes (A)84194-110
Sunshine Coast (R)138248-110
Cessnock (C)130246-116
Newcastle (C)286439-153
Brisbane (C)211373-162
Lake Macquarie (C)414671-257
Gold Coast (C)245524-279
Wyong (A)3,1674,812-1,645
Show me more!

Source: Australian Bureau of Statistics, Census of Population and Housing , 2011 (Usual Residence Data). Compiled and presented in profile.id by .id , the population experts.