Gosford City CouncilCommunity profile

2016 Census data will be released soon and we're busy behind the scenes getting this website ready. Read our plan.

Skip to content

East Gosford - Point Frederick - Springfield

About the profile areas

The 2016 Estimated Resident Population for East Gosford - Point Frederick - Springfield is 10,668, with a population density of 14.84 persons per hectare.

Location and boundaries

East Gosford - Point Frederick - Springfield is bounded by the suburb of North Gosford, the 4WD track and the locality of Holgate in the north, The Entrance Road in the east, Erina Creek and Brisbane Water in the south and Broad Water, Masons Parade, Henry Parry Drive and the suburb of Gosford in the west.

Name origin

Point Frederick is named after Frederick Augustus Hely, Chief Superintendent of Convicts for NSW. Springfield is thought to be named after freshwater springs in the area.

Settlement history

Settlement of the area dates from the late 1830s when the Private Township of East Gosford was proposed by landowner Samuel Peek. Though the 1840s Depression and other economic factors severely limited growth of the Private Town, the street layout of East Gosford is basically that shown on the early surveys. A girl's school was established in the WW1 era. Small numbers of dairy cattle grazed around the area into the 1920s. Growth continued in the early 1900s, when many orchards were subdivided and houses were built. Significant development occurred in the post-war years, particularly from the 1960s. The population continued to increase gradually from the early 1990s as new dwellings were added to the area, particularly medium density housing.

Land use

East Gosford - Point Frederick - Springfield is an established residential area, with some rural areas on the outskirts.

Major features

Major features of the area include Gosford Regional Gallery & Arts Centre, Rumbalara Reserve, Grass Tree Hill, Erina Creek Wetlands, Bushlands Avenue Reserve, Elizabeth Ross Park, Hargraves Park, Hylton Moore Park, Mahogany Close Playground, Newman Park, Peace Park, Phyllis Bennett Reserve, Pioneer Park, Terry Oval, Gosford-Edogawa Commemorative Garden, Yaruga Lookout and a number of schools.