Gosford City CouncilCommunity profile

2016 Census data will be released soon and we're busy behind the scenes getting this website ready. Read our plan.

Skip to content

Mountains South

About the profile areas

The 2016 Estimated Resident Population for Mountains South is 1,597, with a population density of 0.06 persons per hectare.

Location and boundaries

Mountains South is bounded by the localities of Ten Mile Hollow, Mangrove Creek, Mangrove Mountain, Peats Ridge and Somersby in the north, the suburbs and localities of Kariong, Woy Woy and Patonga in the east, Brisbane Water and Hornsby Shire in the south and Hawkesbury City in the west.

Settlement history

Settlement of the area dates from the 1820s when the first land grants were made, mainly along the Lower Hawkesbury River. Timber getting and farming were the mainstays of the local economy. Oyster farming became a feature of the Mullet Creek area, and trading boats supplied small settlements and took produce to Sydney. The building of the Main North Railway line in the 1880s led to greater awareness of the tourism potential offered by the Hawkesbury River. The main Sydney-Gosford Road (via Wiseman's Ferry) was largely replaced by a more direct route (via Mooney Mooney) in 1930 with the opening to Gosford of the Pacific Highway. The most significant development occurred in the post-war years, with increasing numbers of commuters taking advantage of improved road and rail infrastructure in the Lower Hawkesbury. The population has fluctuated slightly since the early 1990s, a result of small changes in dwelling stock and in the average number of persons living in each dwelling.

Land use

Mountains South is a predominantly rural area.

Major features

Major features of the area include Brisbane Water National Park, Dharug National Park, Popran National Park, the Hawkesbury River, Mooney Mooney Creek, Broken Bay Sport and Recreation Centre, Spectacle Island Nature Reserve, Spencer Tidal Pool, Little Wobby Beach, Australia Walkabout Wildlife Park, Cheero Point Park, Point Road Playground, Spencer Waterfront Playground, Wendoree Park and one school.

Included areas

Mountains South includes the localities of Bar Point, Calga, Cheero Point, Cogra Bay, Glenworth Valley, Greengrove, Gunderman, Little Wobby, Lower Mangrove, Marlow, Milsons Passage, Mooney Mooney, Mooney Mooney Creek, Mount White, Spencer, Wendoree Park and Wondabyne.