Gosford City CouncilCommunity profile

2016 Census data will be released soon and we're busy behind the scenes getting this website ready. Read our plan.

Skip to content

Gosford City

About the profile areas

The 2016 Estimated Resident Population for Gosford City is 175,709, with a population density of 1.87 persons per hectare.

Location and boundaries

Gosford City is located in the Central Coast Region of New South Wales, about 80 kilometres north of the Sydney CBD and 80 kilometres south of the Newcastle CBD. Gosford City is bounded by Cessnock City in the north, Wyong Shire and the Tasman Sea in the east, Broken Bay, the Hawkesbury River and Hornsby Shire in the south and Hawkesbury City in the west.

Name origin

Gosford is thought to be named after Archibald Acheson, the 2nd Earl of Gosford.

Settlement history

European settlement dates from the 1820s, with development mainly in the east or along the coast, particularly around the waterways. Land was used mainly for timber-getting. Ship building industries were also important. The townships of Gosford, Kincumber and Blackwall were established in the 1830s. Growth was limited until the 1860s, aided by the establishment of several shipyards and citrus orchards. Growth took place in the 1880s and 1890s, aided by the completion of the railway line and the expansion of tourism. Growth continued in the early 1900s, with subdivision of land along the waterways and beaches for holiday villages and resorts. Significant development occurred in the post-war years, particularly in the eastern section, aided by improvements in access and the expansion of metropolitan Sydney. The population increased from about 7,000 in 1901 to 25,000 in 1954. The population continued to grow rapidly from the 1960s to the 1980s, rising from about 31,000 in 1960, to 52,000 in 1970, and 109,000 in 1986. Agriculture and horticulture began to decline in importance as Gosford developed as a commuter, holiday and retirement centre. The population continued to increase during the 1990s, rising from nearly 129,000 in 1991 to 154,000 in 2001. Growth began to slow from 2001, with the population increasing marginally to about 155,000 in 2006 and then to 160,000 in 2011.

Land use
Land use 3% 7% 65% 25%

Land use

Gosford City is a rural and residential area, with some commercial land use. The City encompasses a total land area of about 1,030 square kilometres, of which a large proportion is State Forest, National Park and nature reserves, including beaches and waterways. The City has a dispersed population, with 95% of the population in settlements to the east of the Sydney-Newcastle Freeway. The main population centres are the Woy Woy Peninsula, Terrigal, Erina, Kariong and Kincumber. Smaller villages are located along the coast and surrounding Brisbane Water.


Gosford City is served by the Sydney-Newcastle Freeway, the Pacific Highway and the Newcastle railway line.

Major features

Major features of the City include Brisbane Water, Bouddi National Park, Brisbane Water National Park, Dharug National Park, Popran National Park, Wyrrabalong National Park, Cockle Bay Nature Reserve, Jilliby State Conservation Area, Kincumba Mountain Reserve, the Hawkesbury River, Erina Fair Shopping Centre, the Gosford CBD, TAFE NSW Hunter Institute (Gosford Campus), Gosford Hospital, Woy Woy Hospital, Bluetongue Central Coast Stadium (Grahame Park), Peninsula Leisure Centre, Australian Reptile Park, several dams and various beaches.

Included areas

Gosford City includes the suburbs and localities of Avoca Beach, Bar Point, Bensville, Blackwall, Booker Bay, Bouddi, Box Head, Calga, Central Mangrove, Cheero Point, Cogra Bay, Copacabana, Daleys Point, Davistown, East Gosford, Empire Bay, Erina, Erina Heights, Ettalong Beach, Forresters Beach, Glenworth Valley, Gosford, Green Point, Greengrove, Gunderman, Hardys Bay, Holgate, Horsfield Bay, Kariong, Killcare, Killcare Heights, Kincumber, Kincumber South, Koolewong, Kulnura, Lisarow, Little Wobby, Lower Mangrove, MacMasters Beach, Mangrove Creek, Mangrove Mountain, Marlow, Matcham, Milsons Passage, Mooney Mooney, Mooney Mooney Creek, Mount Elliot, Mount White, Narara, Niagara Park, North Avoca, North Gosford, Patonga, Pearl Beach, Peats Ridge, Phegans Bay, Picketts Valley, Point Clare, Point Frederick, Pretty Beach, Saratoga, Somersby, Spencer, Springfield, St Huberts Island, Tascott, Ten Mile Hollow, Terrigal, Umina Beach, Upper Mangrove, Wagstaffe, Wamberal, Wendoree Park, West Gosford, Wondabyne, Woy Woy, Woy Woy Bay, Wyoming and Yattalunga.