Georges River CouncilCommunity profile

We’re continuing to update these pages with data from the 2016 Census. Read more about our updates.

Skip to content

Georges River Council area

Migration by age and location

Between 2006 and 2011, the LGA with the highest net migration to the Georges River Council area (+1,546) was from Rockdale (C), whilst the highest net loss (-1,203) was to Sutherland Shire (A).

The age structure of people who move into and out of the Georges River Council area is strongly influenced by the residential role and function of the area and can influence demand for particular services. For instance, inner city areas near employment, education and entertainment tend to attract many young people in their late teens and early twenties, who move out in their late twenties and thirties to start families in suburban areas. Rural areas tend to lose young people and gain older families and retirees.

Understanding the Georges River Council area's attraction to different age groups helps to plan services for the community as well as advocating with other levels of government and private enterprise to provide infrastructure, employment opportunities and facilities which may help to retain age groups which are otherwise leaving the area.

Derived from the Census questions:

'Where does the person usually live?' and 'Where did the person usually live five years ago (at 9 August 2006)'.

Net gains and losses by LGA
Georges River Council area - between 2006 and 2011
LGAIn migrationOut migrationNet migration
Rockdale (C)4,5603,014+1,546
Canterbury (C)2,3691,529+840
Randwick (C)679406+273
Botany Bay (C)307119+188
Marrickville (A)508330+178
Sydney (C)956822+134
Ashfield (A)262153+109
Burwood (A)210129+81
Fairfield (C)219154+65
Auburn (C)232188+44
Waverley (A)180138+42
Wollongong (C)345313+32
Port Adelaide Enfield (C)200+20
Burnside (C)150+15
Adelaide (C)186+12
Mitcham (C)100+10
Palmerston (C)100+10
Tea Tree Gully (C)90+9
Mosman (A)2920+9
Bayside (C)80+8
Maribyrnong (C)136+7
Canning (C)1912+7
Norwood Payneham St Peters (C)93+6
Central Coast (M)60+6
Kentish (M)60+6
Blayney (A)60+6
Wanneroo (C)149+5
Melville (C)127+5
Salisbury (C)1611+5
West Torrens (C)73+4
Cooma-Monaro (A)73+4
Greater Dandenong (C)73+4
Mitchell (S)63+3
Cowra (A)63+3
Griffith (C)96+3
Bayswater (C)63+3
Joondalup (C)96+3
Hobsons Bay (C)97+2
Tumut Shire (A)64+2
Frankston (C)1312+1
Townsville (C)3433+1
Charles Sturt (C)1413+1
Holdfast Bay (C)660
Glen Eira (C)660
Whittlesea (C)660
Armidale Dumaresq (A)13130
Nambucca (A)770
Lismore (C)56-1
Dubbo (C)911-2
Yarra Ranges (S)79-2
Monash (C)2224-2
Fremantle (C)46-2
Belmont (C)57-2
Marion (C)912-3
Whitsunday (R)47-3
East Gippsland (S)36-3
Boroondara (C)2225-3
Uralla (A)36-3
Moonee Valley (C)913-4
Lane Cove (A)3640-4
Queanbeyan (C)1520-5
Greater Geelong (C)1015-5
Greater Shepparton (C)49-5
Playford (C)49-5
Hobart (C)49-5
Launceston (C)39-6
Stirling (C)915-6
Unincorp. Other Territories06-6
Cambridge (T)06-6
Mackay (R)06-6
Horsham (RC)06-6
Melbourne (C)1824-6
Nillumbik (S)06-6
Bundaberg (R)39-6
Cassowary Coast (R)39-6
Upper Lachlan Shire (A)39-6
Tenterfield (A)06-6
Cardinia (S)06-6
Orange (C)1622-6
Palerang (A)39-6
Gundagai (A)06-6
Gloucester (A)06-6
Goulburn Mulwaree (A)1521-6
Byron (A)310-7
Leichhardt (A)127134-7
Young (A)07-7
Gladstone (R)310-7
Gosnells (C)411-7
Perth (C)07-7
Port Hedland (T)07-7
Rockingham (C)412-8
Huon Valley (M)08-8
Wodonga (RC)412-8
Snowy River (A)08-8
Lithgow (C)614-8
Mid-Western Regional (A)412-8
Cabonne (A)08-8
Clarence Valley (A)1321-8
Bega Valley (A)1827-9
Bellingen (A)09-9
Leeton (A)09-9
Singleton (A)09-9
Casey (C)716-9
Greater Bendigo (C)09-9
Stonnington (C)1120-9
Maroondah (C)615-9
Macedon Ranges (S)09-9
Waratah/Wynyard (M)09-9
Darwin (C)1625-9
Vincent (T)09-9
Nedlands (C)09-9
Mandurah (C)09-9
Cockburn (C)312-9
Armadale (C)09-9
Logan (C)1625-9
Mount Barker (DC)09-9
Ipswich (C)616-10
Mornington Peninsula (S)010-10
Inverell (A)616-10
Cootamundra (A)010-10
Kempsey (A)1425-11
Port Phillip (C)1728-11
Banyule (C)314-11
Yass Valley (A)012-12
Darebin (C)1527-12
Kingston (C)012-12
Port Macquarie-Hastings (A)5668-12
Yarra (C)618-12
Toowoomba (R)1325-12
Kingborough (M)315-12
No usual address (WA)012-12
Parkes (A)518-13
Moreland (C)1225-13
Brimbank (C)316-13
Maitland (C)1125-14
Hawkesbury (C)1832-14
Onkaparinga (C)721-14
Coffs Harbour (C)2641-15
Warringah (A)88103-15
Knox (C)1328-15
Manningham (C)319-16
Wyndham (C)1228-16
Kiama (A)1430-16
Unincorporated NT016-16
Fraser Coast (R)1027-17
Roebourne (S)018-18
Redland (C)1331-18
Rockhampton (R)019-19
Melton (S)322-19
Wagga Wagga (C)2241-19
Hunters Hill (A)1130-19
Oberon (A)322-19
Albury (C)322-19
Cairns (R)727-20
Hume (C)021-21
Cessnock (C)326-23
Pittwater (A)831-23
Greater Taree (C)2145-24
Bathurst Regional (A)1539-24
Ballina (A)631-25
Port Stephens (A)1843-25
Newcastle (C)5378-25
Great Lakes (A)1743-26
Manly (A)2350-27
Whitehorse (C)1643-27
Tamworth Regional (A)1239-27
Shellharbour (C)4472-28
Tweed (A)1546-31
Eurobodalla (A)342-39
Canada Bay (A)204247-43
Penrith (C)71116-45
Blue Mountains (C)4996-47
No usual address (NSW)351-48
Moreton Bay (R)2476-52
Lake Macquarie (C)3390-57
North Sydney (A)105166-61
Wollondilly (A)2081-61
Ryde (C)194256-62
Wyong (A)51117-66
Holroyd (C)98165-67
Brisbane (C)183257-74
Gosford (C)93169-76
Willoughby (C)121199-78
Woollahra (A)56139-83
Strathfield (A)122205-83
Sunshine Coast (R)14115-101
Shoalhaven (C)77189-112
Camden (A)71185-114
Blacktown (C)182298-116
Wingecarribee (A)32149-117
Hornsby (A)127246-119
Parramatta (C)253375-122
Unincorporated ACT144267-123
Ku-ring-gai (A)56216-160
Gold Coast (C)58267-209
The Hills Shire (A)74290-216
Campbelltown (C)253476-223
Liverpool (C)407689-282
Bankstown (C)1,1561,916-760
Sutherland Shire (A)1,8163,019-1,203
Show me more!

Source: Australian Bureau of Statistics, Census of Population and Housing , 2011 (Usual Residence Data). Compiled and presented in by .id , the population experts.