City of CaseyCommunity profile

We’re continuing to update these pages with data from the 2016 Census. Read more about our updates.

Skip to content

City of Casey

Migration by age and location

Between 2006 and 2011, the LGA with the highest net migration to the City of Casey (+6,297) was from Greater Dandenong (C), whilst the highest net loss (-5,925) was to Cardinia (S).

The age structure of people who move into and out of the City of Casey is strongly influenced by the residential role and function of the area and can influence demand for particular services. For instance, inner city areas near employment, education and entertainment tend to attract many young people in their late teens and early twenties, who move out in their late twenties and thirties to start families in suburban areas. Rural areas tend to lose young people and gain older families and retirees.

Understanding the City of Casey's attraction to different age groups helps to plan services for the community as well as advocating with other levels of government and private enterprise to provide infrastructure, employment opportunities and facilities which may help to retain age groups which are otherwise leaving the area.

Derived from the Census questions:

'Where does the person usually live?' and 'Where did the person usually live five years ago (at 9 August 2006)'.

Net gains and losses by LGA
City of Casey - between 2006 and 2011
LGAIn migrationOut migrationNet migration
Greater Dandenong (C)8,9782,681+6,297
Knox (C)3,6391,004+2,635
Monash (C)3,2431,244+1,999
Frankston (C)3,6562,329+1,327
Kingston (C)2,3021,111+1,191
Whitehorse (C)1,038368+670
Yarra Ranges (S)1,165654+511
Glen Eira (C)886403+483
Maroondah (C)676317+359
Auburn (C)2466+240
Boroondara (C)419308+111
Stonnington (C)399303+96
Bayside (C)268180+88
Manningham (C)281206+75
Parramatta (C)809+71
Griffith (C)574+53
Darebin (C)197154+43
Onkaparinga (C)6626+40
Holroyd (C)4611+35
Darwin (C)6839+29
Port Adelaide Enfield (C)5628+28
Bundaberg (R)337+26
Warringah (A)200+20
Burnside (C)200+20
Southern Downs (R)170+17
Alice Springs (T)203+17
Canterbury (C)269+17
Colac-Otway (S)226+16
Banyule (C)145129+16
Cockburn (C)3014+16
Blue Mountains (C)183+15
Sutherland Shire (A)3318+15
Ku-ring-gai (A)216+15
Liverpool (C)4833+15
The Hills Shire (A)4026+14
Hornsby (A)2410+14
Greater Hume Shire (A)140+14
Townsville (C)9480+14
Kogarah (C)130+13
Nillumbik (S)4532+13
Port Augusta (C)130+13
Penrith (C)2613+13
Derwent Valley (M)130+13
Bankstown (C)3118+13
Central Coast (M)196+13
Port Lincoln (C)153+12
Redland (C)4230+12
Hobsons Bay (C)10391+12
Launceston (C)4030+10
Burwood (A)100+10
Charles Sturt (C)2616+10
Canning (C)2212+10
West Torrens (C)2516+9
Cessnock (C)156+9
Campbelltown (C)2718+9
Blacktown (C)5344+9
Ryde (C)2718+9
Katanning (S)90+9
Albury (C)4537+8
West Tamar (M)3123+8
Botany Bay (C)113+8
Yorke Peninsula (DC)136+7
Tea Tree Gully (C)2215+7
Lismore (C)70+7
Cowra (A)147+7
Randwick (C)2114+7
Rockdale (C)169+7
West Wimmera (S)60+6
Willoughby (C)60+6
Byron (A)126+6
Naracoorte and Lucindale (DC)60+6
Tamworth Regional (A)115+6
Wiluna (S)60+6
North Sydney (A)60+6
Campbelltown (C)1812+6
Bathurst Regional (A)93+6
Northern Peninsula Area (R)60+6
Bunbury (C)60+6
Flinders Ranges (DC)60+6
Forbes (A)60+6
Richmond Valley (A)94+5
Joondalup (C)3934+5
Scenic Rim (R)1712+5
Marion (C)2319+4
Goulburn Mulwaree (A)73+4
Gosnells (C)2521+4
Fairfield (C)3127+4
Cassowary Coast (R)106+4
Wanneroo (C)5248+4
Queanbeyan (C)117+4
Ashfield (A)73+4
Kentish (M)63+3
Murray (S)63+3
Shoalhaven (C)1512+3
Maranoa (R)63+3
Wentworth (A)129+3
Clarence Valley (A)63+3
Temora (A)63+3
Kiama (A)63+3
Toowoomba (R)2017+3
Mount Gambier (C)96+3
Tumut Shire (A)63+3
Victor Harbor (C)63+3
Adelaide Hills (DC)64+2
Marrickville (A)86+2
Pittwater (A)98+1
Adelaide (C)76+1
Wingecarribee (A)76+1
Victoria Park (T)15150
Kingborough (M)13130
Waratah/Wynyard (M)13130
Shellharbour (C)990
Huon Valley (M)12120
Leichhardt (A)660
Kwinana (T)15150
Moonee Valley (C)105106-1
Port Macquarie-Hastings (A)2122-1
Warrnambool (C)4748-1
Hindmarsh (S)67-1
Unley (C)46-2
Burnie (C)46-2
Wollongong (C)1113-2
Ararat (RC)2628-2
Devonport (C)1820-2
Ipswich (C)6971-2
Mackay (R)3032-2
Woollahra (A)36-3
Whyalla (C)36-3
Logan (C)144147-3
Yarriambiack (S)69-3
Broome (S)36-3
Mount Barker (DC)36-3
Leeton (A)36-3
Whitsunday (R)2124-3
Eurobodalla (A)69-3
South Perth (C)36-3
Tablelands (R)36-3
Gawler (T)36-3
Macedon Ranges (S)4044-4
Hobart (C)812-4
Kalgoorlie/Boulder (C)1216-4
Prospect (C)610-4
Albany (C)37-4
Hawkesbury (C)37-4
Hurstville (C)37-4
Ballina (A)37-4
Towong (S)712-5
Lake Macquarie (C)1924-5
Sydney (C)2732-5
Norwood Payneham St Peters (C)49-5
Western Downs (R)611-5
Southern Midlands (M)06-6
Coolgardie (S)06-6
Sorell (M)39-6
Corangamite (S)1319-6
Light (RegC)06-6
Newcastle (C)2127-6
Ashburton (S)06-6
Wattle Range (DC)06-6
Waverley (A)06-6
Roebourne (S)713-6
Strathfield (A)06-6
Barossa (DC)06-6
Gympie (R)612-6
Central Highlands (M)06-6
Kempsey (A)06-6
Wyndham-East Kimberley (S)39-6
Urana (A)06-6
Balranald (A)06-6
Cootamundra (A)06-6
Cloncurry (S)06-6
Mosman (A)06-6
Port Stephens (A)1016-6
Holdfast Bay (C)06-6
Dubbo (C)06-6
Busselton (S)612-6
Orange (C)06-6
No usual address (SA)07-7
Mitcham (C)613-7
Salisbury (C)3542-7
Maitland (C)07-7
Wakefield (DC)07-7
Clarence (C)2129-8
West Coast (M)08-8
Bayswater (C)311-8
Brighton (M)311-8
Belmont (C)1220-8
Isaac (R)08-8
No usual address (NSW)311-8
Buloke (S)1018-8
Fremantle (C)311-8
Glenorchy (C)1625-9
Litchfield (M)918-9
South Burnett (R)09-9
George Town (M)09-9
Armadale (C)1221-9
Yass Valley (A)09-9
Coffs Harbour (C)716-9
Indigo (S)1928-9
Katherine (T)010-10
Greater Taree (C)010-10
East Pilbara (S)010-10
Wangaratta (RC)3242-10
Murray Bridge (RC)010-10
Kalamunda (S)415-11
Mildura (RC)4152-11
Deniliquin (A)314-11
Barunga West (DC)012-12
Exmouth (S)012-12
No usual address (WA)012-12
Unincorporated ACT127139-12
Gladstone (R)921-12
Palmerston (C)2134-13
Wyong (A)417-13
Melville (C)417-13
Gosford (C)1225-13
Mount Alexander (S)1529-14
Tweed (A)1529-14
Hepburn (S)1630-14
Camden (A)418-14
Wakool (A)014-14
Stirling (C)1832-14
Glenelg (S)1530-15
Swan (C)2540-15
Fraser Coast (R)3853-15
Strathbogie (S)1227-15
Murray (A)1328-15
Southern Grampians (S)722-15
Berrigan (A)925-16
Loddon (S)925-16
Horsham (RC)2642-16
Moreland (C)171187-16
Corowa Shire (A)017-17
Playford (C)322-19
Port Hedland (T)322-19
Hume (C)196215-19
Pyrenees (S)929-20
Mitchell (S)4465-21
Bega Valley (A)1738-21
No usual address (Qld)326-23
Mansfield (S)2548-23
Swan Hill (RC)2952-23
Benalla (RC)1944-25
Rockhampton (R)1844-26
Moyne (S)1238-26
Rockingham (C)4673-27
Gannawarra (S)2148-27
Brisbane (C)219246-27
Alpine (S)1744-27
Murrindindi (S)3663-27
Wagga Wagga (C)2452-28
Central Goldfields (S)1947-28
Wodonga (RC)2958-29
Surf Coast (S)1141-30
Maribyrnong (C)82114-32
Greater Shepparton (C)75111-36
Moorabool (S)1249-37
Golden Plains (S)1047-37
Northern Grampians (S)1049-39
Mandurah (C)041-41
Ballarat (C)99146-47
Yarra (C)114164-50
Cairns (R)43100-57
Whittlesea (C)174233-59
Brimbank (C)181241-60
Campaspe (S)44109-65
Sunshine Coast (R)74145-71
Port Phillip (C)226297-71
Mornington Peninsula (S)1,1121,198-86
Greater Geelong (C)125212-87
Moira (S)35124-89
Moreton Bay (R)113203-90
No usual address (Vic.)21117-96
Greater Bendigo (C)105217-112
Melbourne (C)156273-117
Melton (S)127249-122
East Gippsland (S)122246-124
Wellington (S)79253-174
South Gippsland (S)165343-178
Gold Coast (C)194389-195
Latrobe (C)241460-219
Bass Coast (S)252494-242
Wyndham (C)180424-244
Baw Baw (S)2371,099-862
Cardinia (S)2,2588,183-5,925
Show me more!

Source: Australian Bureau of Statistics, Census of Population and Housing , 2011 (Usual Residence Data). Compiled and presented in by .id , the population experts.