City of CaseyCommunity profile

2016 Census data has been released and we are busy processing it to update this website. View our latest releases here.

Skip to content

City of Casey

Migration by age and location

Between 2006 and 2011, the LGA with the highest net migration to the City of Casey (+6,297) was from Greater Dandenong (C), whilst the highest net loss (-5,925) was to Cardinia (S).

The age structure of people who move into and out of the City of Casey is strongly influenced by the residential role and function of the area and can influence demand for particular services. For instance, inner city areas near employment, education and entertainment tend to attract many young people in their late teens and early twenties, who move out in their late twenties and thirties to start families in suburban areas. Rural areas tend to lose young people and gain older families and retirees.

Understanding the City of Casey's attraction to different age groups helps to plan services for the community as well as advocating with other levels of government and private enterprise to provide infrastructure, employment opportunities and facilities which may help to retain age groups which are otherwise leaving the area.

Derived from the Census questions:

'Where does the person usually live?' and 'Where did the person usually live five years ago (at 9 August 2006)'.

Net gains and losses by LGA
City of Casey - between 2006 and 2011
LGAIn migrationOut migrationNet migration
Greater Dandenong (C)8,9782,681+6,297
Knox (C)3,6391,004+2,635
Monash (C)3,2431,244+1,999
Frankston (C)3,6562,329+1,327
Kingston (C)2,3021,111+1,191
Whitehorse (C)1,038368+670
Yarra Ranges (S)1,165654+511
Glen Eira (C)886403+483
Maroondah (C)676317+359
Auburn (C)2466+240
Boroondara (C)419308+111
Stonnington (C)399303+96
Bayside (C)268180+88
Manningham (C)281206+75
Parramatta (C)809+71
Griffith (C)574+53
Darebin (C)197154+43
Onkaparinga (C)6626+40
Holroyd (C)4611+35
Darwin (C)6839+29
Port Adelaide Enfield (C)5628+28
Bundaberg (R)337+26
Warringah (A)200+20
Burnside (C)200+20
Alice Springs (T)203+17
Canterbury (C)269+17
Southern Downs (R)170+17
Banyule (C)145129+16
Colac-Otway (S)226+16
Cockburn (C)3014+16
Ku-ring-gai (A)216+15
Blue Mountains (C)183+15
Liverpool (C)4833+15
Sutherland Shire (A)3318+15
Greater Hume Shire (A)140+14
The Hills Shire (A)4026+14
Townsville (C)9480+14
Hornsby (A)2410+14
Derwent Valley (M)130+13
Central Coast (M)196+13
Bankstown (C)3118+13
Kogarah (C)130+13
Nillumbik (S)4532+13
Port Augusta (C)130+13
Penrith (C)2613+13
Hobsons Bay (C)10391+12
Redland (C)4230+12
Port Lincoln (C)153+12
Burwood (A)100+10
Launceston (C)4030+10
Charles Sturt (C)2616+10
Canning (C)2212+10
Blacktown (C)5344+9
Ryde (C)2718+9
Cessnock (C)156+9
Campbelltown (C)2718+9
West Torrens (C)2516+9
Katanning (S)90+9
Botany Bay (C)113+8
Albury (C)4537+8
West Tamar (M)3123+8
Cowra (A)147+7
Yorke Peninsula (DC)136+7
Randwick (C)2114+7
Lismore (C)70+7
Tea Tree Gully (C)2215+7
Rockdale (C)169+7
Naracoorte and Lucindale (DC)60+6
Bathurst Regional (A)93+6
North Sydney (A)60+6
Bunbury (C)60+6
Byron (A)126+6
Northern Peninsula Area (R)60+6
Flinders Ranges (DC)60+6
Tamworth Regional (A)115+6
Campbelltown (C)1812+6
Willoughby (C)60+6
West Wimmera (S)60+6
Wiluna (S)60+6
Forbes (A)60+6
Scenic Rim (R)1712+5
Joondalup (C)3934+5
Richmond Valley (A)94+5
Marion (C)2319+4
Goulburn Mulwaree (A)73+4
Fairfield (C)3127+4
Queanbeyan (C)117+4
Cassowary Coast (R)106+4
Gosnells (C)2521+4
Ashfield (A)73+4
Wanneroo (C)5248+4
Shoalhaven (C)1512+3
Toowoomba (R)2017+3
Wentworth (A)129+3
Kiama (A)63+3
Murray (S)63+3
Mount Gambier (C)96+3
Temora (A)63+3
Tumut Shire (A)63+3
Kentish (M)63+3
Victor Harbor (C)63+3
Maranoa (R)63+3
Clarence Valley (A)63+3
Marrickville (A)86+2
Adelaide Hills (DC)64+2
Adelaide (C)76+1
Wingecarribee (A)76+1
Pittwater (A)98+1
Victoria Park (T)15150
Kingborough (M)13130
Leichhardt (A)660
Kwinana (T)15150
Shellharbour (C)990
Huon Valley (M)12120
Waratah/Wynyard (M)13130
Warrnambool (C)4748-1
Port Macquarie-Hastings (A)2122-1
Moonee Valley (C)105106-1
Hindmarsh (S)67-1
Mackay (R)3032-2
Burnie (C)46-2
Wollongong (C)1113-2
Unley (C)46-2
Ararat (RC)2628-2
Devonport (C)1820-2
Ipswich (C)6971-2
Whitsunday (R)2124-3
Leeton (A)36-3
Mount Barker (DC)36-3
Yarriambiack (S)69-3
Eurobodalla (A)69-3
Woollahra (A)36-3
Tablelands (R)36-3
Broome (S)36-3
South Perth (C)36-3
Logan (C)144147-3
Gawler (T)36-3
Whyalla (C)36-3
Hawkesbury (C)37-4
Kalgoorlie/Boulder (C)1216-4
Hobart (C)812-4
Albany (C)37-4
Hurstville (C)37-4
Ballina (A)37-4
Macedon Ranges (S)4044-4
Prospect (C)610-4
Western Downs (R)611-5
Towong (S)712-5
Norwood Payneham St Peters (C)49-5
Sydney (C)2732-5
Lake Macquarie (C)1924-5
Kempsey (A)06-6
Mosman (A)06-6
Orange (C)06-6
Waverley (A)06-6
Busselton (S)612-6
Cloncurry (S)06-6
Ashburton (S)06-6
Wattle Range (DC)06-6
Central Highlands (M)06-6
Cootamundra (A)06-6
Light (RegC)06-6
Corangamite (S)1319-6
Wyndham-East Kimberley (S)39-6
Holdfast Bay (C)06-6
Strathfield (A)06-6
Port Stephens (A)1016-6
Coolgardie (S)06-6
Southern Midlands (M)06-6
Roebourne (S)713-6
Dubbo (C)06-6
Balranald (A)06-6
Gympie (R)612-6
Sorell (M)39-6
Newcastle (C)2127-6
Urana (A)06-6
Barossa (DC)06-6
Mitcham (C)613-7
Maitland (C)07-7
Salisbury (C)3542-7
Wakefield (DC)07-7
No usual address (SA)07-7
Brighton (M)311-8
Bayswater (C)311-8
West Coast (M)08-8
Belmont (C)1220-8
Fremantle (C)311-8
Clarence (C)2129-8
Buloke (S)1018-8
No usual address (NSW)311-8
Isaac (R)08-8
Yass Valley (A)09-9
Coffs Harbour (C)716-9
Indigo (S)1928-9
Armadale (C)1221-9
George Town (M)09-9
Litchfield (M)918-9
Glenorchy (C)1625-9
South Burnett (R)09-9
East Pilbara (S)010-10
Wangaratta (RC)3242-10
Katherine (T)010-10
Murray Bridge (RC)010-10
Greater Taree (C)010-10
Kalamunda (S)415-11
Deniliquin (A)314-11
Mildura (RC)4152-11
Exmouth (S)012-12
Unincorporated ACT127139-12
Gladstone (R)921-12
Barunga West (DC)012-12
No usual address (WA)012-12
Melville (C)417-13
Wyong (A)417-13
Gosford (C)1225-13
Palmerston (C)2134-13
Wakool (A)014-14
Camden (A)418-14
Mount Alexander (S)1529-14
Hepburn (S)1630-14
Tweed (A)1529-14
Stirling (C)1832-14
Strathbogie (S)1227-15
Murray (A)1328-15
Swan (C)2540-15
Glenelg (S)1530-15
Fraser Coast (R)3853-15
Southern Grampians (S)722-15
Horsham (RC)2642-16
Berrigan (A)925-16
Loddon (S)925-16
Moreland (C)171187-16
Corowa Shire (A)017-17
Port Hedland (T)322-19
Playford (C)322-19
Hume (C)196215-19
Pyrenees (S)929-20
Bega Valley (A)1738-21
Mitchell (S)4465-21
Mansfield (S)2548-23
Swan Hill (RC)2952-23
No usual address (Qld)326-23
Benalla (RC)1944-25
Moyne (S)1238-26
Rockhampton (R)1844-26
Rockingham (C)4673-27
Gannawarra (S)2148-27
Brisbane (C)219246-27
Alpine (S)1744-27
Murrindindi (S)3663-27
Central Goldfields (S)1947-28
Wagga Wagga (C)2452-28
Wodonga (RC)2958-29
Surf Coast (S)1141-30
Maribyrnong (C)82114-32
Greater Shepparton (C)75111-36
Golden Plains (S)1047-37
Moorabool (S)1249-37
Northern Grampians (S)1049-39
Mandurah (C)041-41
Ballarat (C)99146-47
Yarra (C)114164-50
Cairns (R)43100-57
Whittlesea (C)174233-59
Brimbank (C)181241-60
Campaspe (S)44109-65
Port Phillip (C)226297-71
Sunshine Coast (R)74145-71
Mornington Peninsula (S)1,1121,198-86
Greater Geelong (C)125212-87
Moira (S)35124-89
Moreton Bay (R)113203-90
No usual address (Vic.)21117-96
Greater Bendigo (C)105217-112
Melbourne (C)156273-117
Melton (S)127249-122
East Gippsland (S)122246-124
Wellington (S)79253-174
South Gippsland (S)165343-178
Gold Coast (C)194389-195
Latrobe (C)241460-219
Bass Coast (S)252494-242
Wyndham (C)180424-244
Baw Baw (S)2371,099-862
Cardinia (S)2,2588,183-5,925
Show me more!

Source: Australian Bureau of Statistics, Census of Population and Housing , 2011 (Usual Residence Data). Compiled and presented in by .id , the population experts.