City of Canterbury BankstownCommunity profile

We’re continuing to update these pages with data from the 2016 Census. Read more about our updates.

Skip to content

City of Canterbury Bankstown

Migration by age and location

Between 2006 and 2011, the LGA with the highest net migration to City of Canterbury Bankstown (+2,278) was from Marrickville (A), whilst the highest net loss (-2,036) was to Liverpool (C).

The age structure of people who move into and out of City of Canterbury Bankstown is strongly influenced by the residential role and function of the area and can influence demand for particular services. For instance, inner city areas near employment, education and entertainment tend to attract many young people in their late teens and early twenties, who move out in their late twenties and thirties to start families in suburban areas. Rural areas tend to lose young people and gain older families and retirees.

Understanding City of Canterbury Bankstown's attraction to different age groups helps to plan services for the community as well as advocating with other levels of government and private enterprise to provide infrastructure, employment opportunities and facilities which may help to retain age groups which are otherwise leaving the area.

Derived from the Census questions:

'Where does the person usually live?' and 'Where did the person usually live five years ago (at 9 August 2006)'.

Net gains and losses by LGA
City of Canterbury Bankstown - between 2006 and 2011
LGAIn migrationOut migrationNet migration
Marrickville (A)3,5131,235+2,278
Ashfield (A)1,315702+613
Sydney (C)1,422957+465
Rockdale (C)2,3062,034+272
Botany Bay (C)516244+272
Auburn (C)1,5171,304+213
Randwick (C)626420+206
Leichhardt (A)486303+183
Waverley (A)171121+50
Port Adelaide Enfield (C)3412+22
Salisbury (C)4531+14
North Burnett (R)110+11
Hobart (C)156+9
Young (A)2112+9
Blayney (A)103+7
Glen Innes Severn (A)103+7
Prospect (C)114+7
Unley (C)60+6
King Island (M)60+6
Greater Geraldton94+5
Kalamunda (S)127+5
Geraldton-Greenough (C)94+5
Maribyrnong (C)3833+5
Greater Dandenong (C)4843+5
Parkes (A)84+4
Kingston (C)129+3
Coonamble (A)96+3
Roebourne (S)129+3
Subiaco (C)63+3
Sorell (M)64+2
Augusta-Margaret River (S)64+2
Rockhampton (R)1210+2
Manly (A)2826+2
Boroondara (C)1413+1
Wellington (A)98+1
Cabonne (A)76+1
Onkaparinga (C)990
Whitehorse (C)24240
Kogarah (C)932933-1
Woollahra (A)7173-2
Snowy River (A)911-2
Scenic Rim (R)46-2
Melville (C)1012-2
Cambridge (T)36-3
Palerang (A)1518-3
Narromine (A)36-3
Warrumbungle Shire (A)912-3
Bayside (C)912-3
Ballarat (C)36-3
Greater Shepparton (C)912-3
East Gippsland (S)36-3
Greater Bendigo (C)36-3
Gunnedah (A)69-3
Deniliquin (A)36-3
Griffith (C)2024-4
Moree Plains (A)610-4
Lockyer Valley (R)48-4
Harvey (S)37-4
Clarence (C)37-4
Palmerston (C)712-5
Central Highlands (R)49-5
Cowra (A)712-5
Glen Eira (C)1015-5
Darebin (C)2732-5
Colac-Otway (S)06-6
Yass Valley (A)06-6
Tumut Shire (A)612-6
Walcha (A)06-6
Coolamon (A)06-6
Bogan (A)06-6
Dubbo (C)1824-6
Bellingen (A)1622-6
Gilgandra (A)410-6
Longreach (R)06-6
Wellington (S)06-6
Yarra Ranges (S)410-6
No usual address (Vic.)06-6
Southern Grampians (S)06-6
Nillumbik (S)06-6
Bridgetown-Greenbushes (S)06-6
Playford (C)612-6
South Burnett (R)06-6
Tablelands (R)06-6
Winton (S)06-6
Adelaide Hills (DC)39-6
Dorset (M)06-6
Huon Valley (M)06-6
Kwinana (T)612-6
South Perth (C)39-6
Port Hedland (T)06-6
Waratah/Wynyard (M)07-7
Adelaide (C)815-7
Mount Alexander (S)07-7
Balranald (A)07-7
Forbes (A)07-7
Armidale Dumaresq (A)1422-8
Temora (A)08-8
Frankston (C)1523-8
Stonnington (C)311-8
Kalgoorlie/Boulder (C)311-8
Perth (C)312-9
West Tamar (M)09-9
Launceston (C)1120-9
Maroondah (C)312-9
Melbourne (C)3544-9
No usual address (Qld)09-9
Coober Pedy (DC)09-9
Marion (C)1322-9
Whyalla (C)09-9
Knox (C)918-9
Latrobe (C)09-9
Bourke (A)09-9
Junee (A)09-9
Harden (A)010-10
Leeton (A)010-10
Bathurst Regional (A)2939-10
Banyule (C)616-10
Walgett (A)010-10
Cockburn (C)1222-10
Moonee Valley (C)2030-10
Yarra (C)1020-10
Mackay (R)2131-10
Fraser Coast (R)2737-10
Glenorchy (C)818-10
Alice Springs (T)011-11
Mandurah (C)617-11
Victoria Park (T)1021-11
Singleton (A)617-11
Manningham (C)1627-11
Mosman (A)2940-11
Maitland (C)2132-11
Muswellbrook (A)012-12
Inverell (A)012-12
Clarence Valley (A)2840-12
Cardinia (S)012-12
Indigo (S)012-12
Mildura (RC)316-13
Monash (C)1629-13
Mitcham (C)013-13
Burwood (A)893906-13
Uralla (A)014-14
Bega Valley (A)621-15
Lismore (C)1328-15
Campbelltown (C)015-15
Gladstone (R)015-15
Wodonga (RC)621-15
Bundaberg (R)925-16
Tea Tree Gully (C)016-16
Liverpool Plains (A)016-16
Upper Lachlan Shire (A)016-16
Greater Geelong (C)320-17
Pittwater (A)2845-17
Toowoomba (R)2341-18
Albury (C)1837-19
Cooma-Monaro (A)625-19
Tamworth Regional (A)2545-20
Cairns (R)3959-20
Rockingham (C)1232-20
Byron (A)829-21
Nambucca (A)023-23
Charles Sturt (C)1538-23
Bayswater (C)327-24
Canning (C)1035-25
Melton (S)530-25
Cessnock (C)1237-25
Lane Cove (A)4874-26
Oberon (A)026-26
Port Phillip (C)1238-26
Belmont (C)935-26
Hobsons Bay (C)028-28
Lithgow (C)937-28
Hume (C)2857-29
Richmond Valley (A)029-29
Joondalup (C)736-29
Casey (C)2757-30
Hunters Hill (A)2051-31
Eurobodalla (A)3970-31
Swan (C)637-31
Armadale (C)031-31
Townsville (C)1042-32
Ballina (A)638-32
Port Stephens (A)2860-32
Newcastle (C)103136-33
North Sydney (A)116150-34
Orange (C)1852-34
Mid-Western Regional (A)943-34
Queanbeyan (C)2762-35
Warringah (A)144180-36
Kempsey (A)1854-36
Hawkesbury (C)67103-36
Redland (C)3470-36
Gosnells (C)1249-37
Wagga Wagga (C)2764-37
Whittlesea (C)947-38
Stirling (C)2058-38
Greater Taree (C)3172-41
Kiama (A)1759-42
Wanneroo (C)345-42
Goulburn Mulwaree (A)1862-44
Darwin (C)1964-45
Moreland (C)2674-48
Wyndham (C)3589-54
Brimbank (C)2885-57
Coffs Harbour (C)4099-59
Tweed (A)2283-61
Lake Macquarie (C)103168-65
Hurstville (C)2,5132,592-79
No usual address (NSW)45125-80
Ipswich (C)27107-80
Great Lakes (A)1295-83
Willoughby (C)121213-92
Sunshine Coast (R)46142-96
Port Macquarie-Hastings (A)37134-97
Logan (C)49149-100
Wingecarribee (A)53155-102
Blue Mountains (C)113219-106
Shellharbour (C)32151-119
Ku-ring-gai (A)84216-132
Wollondilly (A)92236-144
Wollongong (C)208374-166
Shoalhaven (C)124295-171
Moreton Bay (R)37209-172
Strathfield (A)9941,221-227
Penrith (C)282524-242
Brisbane (C)242485-243
Unincorporated ACT119379-260
Hornsby (A)161434-273
Camden (A)143420-277
Wyong (A)123400-277
Gosford (C)131439-308
Ryde (C)300628-328
Holroyd (C)508852-344
Gold Coast (C)87448-361
Fairfield (C)1,4611,826-365
Parramatta (C)1,0171,433-416
Canada Bay (A)6351,103-468
The Hills Shire (A)229720-491
Sutherland Shire (A)1,2762,158-882
Blacktown (C)6281,559-931
Campbelltown (C)9001,859-959
Liverpool (C)1,7233,759-2,036
Show me more!

Source: Australian Bureau of Statistics, Census of Population and Housing , 2011 (Usual Residence Data). Compiled and presented in by .id , the population experts.