Byron ShireCommunity profile

We’re continuing to update these pages with data from the 2016 Census. Read more about our updates.

Skip to content

Rural South West

About the profile areas

The 2016 Estimated Resident Population for Rural South West is 2,204, with a population density of 0.15 persons per hectare.

Location and boundaries

Rural South West is bounded by the localities of Huonbrook, Wanganui and Wilsons Creek in the north, Wilsons River and the localities of Possum Creek and Bangalow in the east, Skinners Creek, Wilsons River, Ballina Shire and Lismore City in the south, and Lismore City and Coopers Creek in the west.

Settlement history

Settlement of the area dates from the mid 1800s, with land used mainly for farming. Population was minimal until the late 1800s, with growth through to the early 1900s. The population gradually increased during the 1970s and 1980s. The population generally increased slightly between 1991 and 2011 as new dwellings were added to the area.

Land use

Rural South West is a rural and national park area, with some rural-residential areas. Rural land is used largely for agriculture, particularly dairy farming and nut growing.

Major features

Major features of the area include Goonengerry National Park, Nightcap National Park, Andrew Johnston Big Scrub Nature Reserve, Snows Gully Nature Reserve, Whian Whian State Conservation Area, Minyon Falls, Pegasus Park Equestrian Centre, Booyong Recreation Reserve and several schools.

Included areas

Rural South West encompasses the localities of Binna Burra, Eureka, Federal, Goonengerry, Nashua and Upper Coopers Creek, the Byron Shire parts of the localities of Booyong, Clunes, Nightcap and Whian Whian, and some of the Byron Shire part of the locality of Newrybar.