Buloke Shire CouncilCommunity profile

2016 Census data will be released soon and we're busy behind the scenes getting this website ready. Read our plan.

Skip to content

Mount Jeffcott Ward

About the profile areas

The 2015 Estimated Resident Population for Mount Jeffcott Ward is 1,955, with a population density of 0.01 persons per hectare.

Location and boundaries

Mount Jeffcott Ward is bounded by Galaquil Road, McLoughlans Road, Wirmbirchip Road, the Sunraysia Highway, Aerodrome Road, Birchip-Corack Road, MacFarlane Road and Lees Road in the north, Boundary Road, Morton Plains Road, Charlton-Thalia Road, the Wycheproof South Channel and St Arnaud-Wycheproof Road in the east, Devon Park Road, Swanwater North Road, the Sunraysia Highway, Leeder Road, Brown Road, Grewar Road and Northern Grampians Shire in the south, and Yarriambiack Shire, Warracknabeal-Birchip Road, Taylor Road, Beyal Road and Beyal North Road in the west.

Settlement history

Settlement of the area dates from the 1840s, with land used mainly for pastoral purposes. Growth took place in the 1870s and 1880s, as the township of Donald was established and the railway line was constructed. The population declined slightly from the early 1990s, a result of little change in dwelling stock, and a decline in the average number of persons living in each dwelling and the share of occupied dwellings.

Land use

Mount Jeffcott Ward is a predominantly rural area which includes the township of Donald, and the smaller township of Watchem. Land is used largely for grain growing and sheep grazing.

Major features

Major features of the area include Mount Jeffcott Fauna and Flora Reserve, Lake Buloke, Wooroonook Lakes, Donald Golf Club, Donald Racecourse, Donald Showground, East Wimmera Health Service (Donald Campus), Donald Agricultural Museum, Bullocks Head Lookout, Donald Recreation Reserve, Meyer Reserve, Watchem Recreation Reserve, Donald Swimming Pool, Watchem Swimming Pool and a number of schools.

Included areas

Mount Jeffcott Ward includes the localities of Ballapur (part), Birchip (part), Birchip West (part), Carron, Chirrip, Cope Cope (part), Corack, Corack East, Donald, Dooboobetic (part), Gil Gil, Granite Flat, Jeffcott, Jeffcott North, Laen (part), Laen East, Laen North, Lawler (part), Litchfield, Massey, Morton Plains, Narraport (part), Rich Avon, Teddywaddy West (part), Thalia (part), Warmur, Watchem, Watchem West (part), Wilkur (part), Wooroonook (part) and Wycheproof South (part).