Broken Hill CityCommunity profile

2016 Census data has been released and we are busy processing it to update this website. View our latest releases here.

Skip to content

Broken Hill City

Migration by age and location

Between 2006 and 2011, the LGA with the highest net migration to Broken Hill City (+26) was from Central Darling (A), whilst the highest net loss (-165) was to Mildura (RC).

The age structure of people who move into and out of Broken Hill City is strongly influenced by the residential role and function of the area and can influence demand for particular services. For instance, inner city areas near employment, education and entertainment tend to attract many young people in their late teens and early twenties, who move out in their late twenties and thirties to start families in suburban areas. Rural areas tend to lose young people and gain older families and retirees.

Understanding Broken Hill City's attraction to different age groups helps to plan services for the community as well as advocating with other levels of government and private enterprise to provide infrastructure, employment opportunities and facilities which may help to retain age groups which are otherwise leaving the area.

Derived from the Census questions:

'Where does the person usually live?' and 'Where did the person usually live five years ago (at 9 August 2006)'.

Net gains and losses by LGA
Broken Hill City - between 2006 and 2011
LGAIn migrationOut migrationNet migration
Central Darling (A)8963+26
Tea Tree Gully (C)339+24
Cobar (A)213+18
Lismore (C)160+16
Sydney (C)218+13
Unincorporated NSW4028+12
Port Adelaide Enfield (C)3828+10
Sutherland Shire (A)123+9
Marrickville (A)123+9
Penrith (C)167+9
Greater Hume Shire (A)90+9
Bourke (A)90+9
Alice Springs (T)123+9
Blue Mountains (C)146+8
Unincorporated SA179+8
Gladstone (R)80+8
Brewarrina (A)70+7
Upper Hunter Shire (A)70+7
Warrumbungle Shire (A)60+6
Moree Plains (A)93+6
Narromine (A)126+6
Parramatta (C)60+6
Hornsby (A)126+6
Hinchinbrook (S)60+6
Manningham (C)60+6
Yarra Ranges (S)60+6
Fremantle (C)60+6
Port Lincoln (C)60+6
Renmark Paringa (DC)60+6
Ravensthorpe (S)60+6
Blacktown (C)1712+5
The Hills Shire (A)94+5
Wollongong (C)2016+4
Cootamundra (A)73+4
Campbelltown (C)106+4
Port Augusta (C)84+4
Logan (C)117+4
Barunga West (DC)73+4
Palmerston (C)73+4
Murray (S)63+3
Stirling (C)96+3
Bundaberg (R)96+3
Joondalup (C)63+3
Cessnock (C)63+3
Randwick (C)63+3
Ballarat (C)64+2
Liverpool (C)108+2
Unincorporated ACT2119+2
Peterborough (DC)65+1
Redland (C)109+1
Sunshine Coast (R)76+1
Moonee Valley (C)660
Whyalla (C)660
Albury (C)990
Richmond Valley (A)660
Wanneroo (C)660
Parkes (A)89-1
Campaspe (S)56-1
Lake Macquarie (C)2021-1
Roxby Downs (M)2122-1
Brisbane (C)2122-1
Mid Murray (DC)46-2
Griffith (C)79-2
Goulburn Mulwaree (A)46-2
Newcastle (C)1012-2
Murrumbidgee (A)36-3
Hume (C)36-3
Greater Taree (C)1013-3
Inverell (A)36-3
Light (RegC)36-3
Norwood Payneham St Peters (C)36-3
Port Pirie City and Dists (M)912-3
Kalamunda (S)36-3
Port Phillip (C)36-3
Melton (S)36-3
Cairns (R)36-3
Ipswich (C)36-3
Adelaide Hills (DC)36-3
Berri and Barmera (DC)610-4
Fraser Coast (R)610-4
Mount Gambier (C)48-4
Gosford (C)1923-4
Boroondara (C)37-4
Wagga Wagga (C)1721-4
Cockburn (C)48-4
Hobart (C)611-5
Mallala (DC)49-5
Grant (DC)06-6
Yorke Peninsula (DC)39-6
Wakefield (DC)06-6
Longreach (R)06-6
Mount Alexander (S)06-6
Gympie (R)06-6
Mount Isa (C)612-6
Walgett (A)814-6
Golden Plains (S)06-6
Greater Shepparton (C)06-6
Tumut Shire (A)06-6
Tweed (A)612-6
Forbes (A)06-6
Hawkesbury (C)06-6
Leeton (A)06-6
Lockhart (A)06-6
Ballina (A)06-6
Boorowa (A)06-6
Coffs Harbour (C)915-6
West Coast (M)06-6
Derwent Valley (M)06-6
Swan (C)06-6
Roebourne (S)06-6
Bathurst Regional (A)1522-7
Bellingen (A)07-7
Wodonga (RC)07-7
Mackay (R)815-7
Armadale (C)08-8
Wellington (A)412-8
Rockingham (C)311-8
Melville (C)09-9
Dalwallinu (S)09-9
Wyong (A)918-9
No usual address (NSW)312-9
Wingecarribee (A)09-9
Knox (C)09-9
Greater Bendigo (C)918-9
Cabonne (A)09-9
Gawler (T)615-9
Goyder (DC)09-9
Rockhampton (R)09-9
Toowoomba (R)09-9
Barossa (DC)010-10
Bogan (A)010-10
Eurobodalla (A)011-11
Port Macquarie-Hastings (A)1728-11
Mitcham (C)1324-11
Unley (C)718-11
Mandurah (C)011-11
Darwin (C)315-12
Unincorporated NT012-12
Campbelltown (C)012-12
Charles Sturt (C)3446-12
Armidale Dumaresq (A)618-12
Maitland (C)922-13
Victor Harbor (C)316-13
Salisbury (C)1932-13
Mount Barker (DC)013-13
Murray Bridge (RC)922-13
Kalgoorlie/Boulder (C)317-14
Playford (C)1631-15
Burnside (C)621-15
Clarence Valley (A)419-15
Cooma-Monaro (A)015-15
Shoalhaven (C)015-15
Dubbo (C)2239-17
Marion (C)3150-19
Clare and Gilbert Valleys (DC)021-21
Gold Coast (C)627-21
Tamworth Regional (A)628-22
Copper Coast (DC)629-23
West Torrens (C)1439-25
Alexandrina (DC)028-28
Adelaide (C)433-29
Onkaparinga (C)2554-29
Townsville (C)637-31
Wentworth (A)2358-35
Orange (C)645-39
Holdfast Bay (C)1164-53
Mildura (RC)59224-165
Show me more!

Source: Australian Bureau of Statistics, Census of Population and Housing , 2011 (Usual Residence Data). Compiled and presented in by .id , the population experts.