City of BrisbaneCommunity profile
Skip to content

Brisbane LGA

About the profile areas

The 2016 Estimated Resident Population for Brisbane LGA is 1,184,215, with a population density of 8.93 persons per hectare.

Location and boundaries

Brisbane is the capital of Queensland. The Brisbane Local Government area (LGA) is located on the east coast of Australia, bounded by the Moreton Bay Regional Council area in the north, Moreton Bay and Redland City in the east, Logan City and the City of Ipswich in the south, and the Somerset Regional Council area in the west.

Name origin

Brisbane is named after Sir Thomas Brisbane, noted astronomer and former Governor of New South Wales.

Settlement history

European settlement dates from 1825 when the Moreton Bay Penal Settlement was established. In 1842 the Penal Settlement was closed and the area declared open for free settlers. Growth was aided by gold discoveries and red cedar milling, with Brisbane named the capital of Queensland in 1859. More substantial growth took place during the 1870s and 1880s, spurred by immigration, port activities and the construction of railway lines. Some growth took place in the early 1900s and during the interwar period. Significant residential and industrial development occurred during the post-war years, as both the city and suburbs grew, aided by immigration. Rapid growth took place from the 1980s, spurred by Brisbane hosting the 1982 Commonwealth Games and the 1988 World's Fair (Expo '88). The population of the City increased from about 737,000 in 1986 to nearly 757,000 in 1991, and then to nearly 961,000 in 2006. Growth is due largely to new developments in outer areas and urban renewal in inner city areas, with the waterfront being significantly transformed from industrial areas into high density residential and parkland areas.

Land use
Land use 14% 32% 39% 15%

Land use

The Brisbane LGA is a growing residential area, with substantial rural, industrial, recreational and parkland areas. The Brisbane LGA encompasses a total land area of about 1,367 square kilometres, including coastline, waterways, islands, national parks and state forests.


The Brisbane LGA is served by the Gateway Motorway, the Ipswich Motorway, the Logan Motorway, the Pacific Motorway, the Western Freeway, the Bradfield Highway, the Centenary Highway, Beaudesert Road, Gympie Road and numerous railway lines, ferries and buses.

Major features

Major features of the Brisbane LGA include the Brisbane River, Brisbane CBD, numerous shopping centres and retail areas, Brisbane Airport, Port of Brisbane, Enoggera Reservoir, Tingalpa Reservoir, Lake Manchester, Central Queensland University, Griffith University, University of Queensland, Queensland University of Technology, Southbank Institute of Technology, Bremer Institute of TAFE, Brisbane North Institute of TAFE, Metropolitan South Institute of TAFE, SkillsTech Australia, Australian Catholic University, Brisbane Convention & Exhibition Centre, Brisbane Entertainment Centre, Museum of Brisbane, Brisbane Powerhouse, Conrad Treasury Casino, Government House, Parliament House, Queensland Art Gallery, Queensland Maritime Museum, Queensland Performing Arts Centre, D'Aguilar National Park (including Mount Coot-tha Forest Park), Boondall Wetlands, Brisbane Koala Bushlands, City Botanic Gardens (Mianjin), Minnippi Parklands, Roma Street Parkland, South Bank Parklands, Toohey Forest Park, Fort Lytton National Park, Moreton Island, Moreton Island National Park, St Helena Island National Park, D'Aguilar National Park, Manly Boat Harbour, Albion Park Paceway, Belmont Shooting Complex, Deagon Racecourse Training Complex, Doomben Racecourse, Eagle Farm Racecourse, Queen Elizabeth II Jubilee Sporting Centre (ANZ Stadium and Queensland Sports & Athletics Centre), Sleeman Sports Complex, State Hockey Centre, State Tennis Centre, Suncorp Stadium (Lang Park), The Gabba (Brisbane Cricket Ground) and various hospitals.

Indigenous background

The original inhabitants of the Brisbane LGA were the Jagera and Turrbal Aboriginal people.

Included areas

The Brisbane LGA includes the suburbs and localities of Acacia Ridge, Albion, Alderley, Algester, Annerley, Anstead, Archerfield, Ascot, Ashgrove, Aspley, Auchenflower, Bald Hills, Balmoral, Banks Creek, Banyo, Bardon, Bellbowrie, Belmont, Berrinba (part), Boondall, Bowen Hills, Bracken Ridge, Bridgeman Downs, Brighton, Brookfield, Bulimba, Burbank, Calamvale, Camp Hill, Cannon Hill, Capalaba West, Carina, Carina Heights, Carindale, Carole Park (part), Carseldine, Chandler, Chapel Hill, Chelmer, Chermside, Chermside West, Chuwar (part), (Brisbane) City, Clayfield, Coopers Plains, Coorparoo, Corinda, Darra, Deagon, Doolandella, Drewvale, Durack, Dutton Park, Eagle Farm, East Brisbane, Eight Mile Plains, Ellen Grove, England Creek, Enoggera, Enoggera Reservoir, Everton Park, Fairfield, Ferny Grove, Fig Tree Pocket, Fitzgibbon, Forest Lake, Fortitude Valley, Gaythorne, Geebung, Gordon Park, Graceville, Grange, Greenslopes, Gumdale, Hamilton, Hawthorne, Heathwood, Hemmant, Hendra, Herston, Highgate Hill, Holland Park, Holland Park West, Inala, Indooroopilly, Jamboree Heights, Jindalee, Kangaroo Point, Karana Downs, Karawatha, Kedron, Kelvin Grove, Kenmore, Kenmore Hills, Keperra, Kholo, Kuraby, Lake Manchester, Larapinta, Lota, Lutwyche, Lytton, Macgregor, Mackenzie, Manly, Manly West, Mansfield, McDowall, Middle Park, Milton, Mitchelton, Moggill, Moorooka, Moreton Island, Morningside, Mount Coot-tha, Mount Crosby, Mount Gravatt, Mount Gravatt East, Mount Ommaney, Murarrie, Nathan, New Farm, Newmarket, Newstead, Norman Park, Northgate, Nudgee, Nudgee Beach, Nundah, Oxley, Paddington, Pallara, Parkinson, Pinjarra Hills, Pinkenba, Port of Brisbane, Pullenvale, Ransome, Red Hill, Richlands, Riverhills, Robertson, Rochedale, Rocklea, Runcorn, Salisbury, Sandgate, Seven Hills, Seventeen Mile Rocks, Sherwood, Shorncliffe, Sinnamon Park, South Brisbane, Spring Hill, St Lucia, Stafford, Stafford Heights, Stretton, Sumner, Sunnybank, Sunnybank Hills, Taigum, Taringa, Tarragindi, Tennyson, The Gap, Tingalpa, Toowong, Upper Brookfield, Upper Kedron, Upper Mount Gravatt, Virginia, Wacol, Wakerley, Wavell Heights, West End, Westlake, Willawong, Wilston, Windsor, Wishart, Woolloongabba, Wooloowin, Wynnum, Wynnum West, Yeerongpilly, Yeronga and Zillmere.