City of BoroondaraCommunity profile

We’re continuing to update these pages with data from the 2016 Census. Read more about our updates.

Skip to content

City of Boroondara

Migration by age and location

Between 2006 and 2011, the LGA with the highest net migration to the City of Boroondara (+74) was from South Gippsland (S), whilst the highest net loss (-1,145) was to Whitehorse (C).

The age structure of people who move into and out of the City of Boroondara is strongly influenced by the residential role and function of the area and can influence demand for particular services. For instance, inner city areas near employment, education and entertainment tend to attract many young people in their late teens and early twenties, who move out in their late twenties and thirties to start families in suburban areas. Rural areas tend to lose young people and gain older families and retirees.

Understanding the City of Boroondara's attraction to different age groups helps to plan services for the community as well as advocating with other levels of government and private enterprise to provide infrastructure, employment opportunities and facilities which may help to retain age groups which are otherwise leaving the area.

Derived from the Census questions:

'Where does the person usually live?' and 'Where did the person usually live five years ago (at 9 August 2006)'.

Net gains and losses by LGA
City of Boroondara - between 2006 and 2011
LGAIn migrationOut migrationNet migration
South Gippsland (S)12147+74
Wellington (S)11142+69
Mildura (RC)8819+69
Latrobe (C)13676+60
Yarra (C)2,0221,962+60
Mitcham (C)8133+48
Wodonga (RC)8033+47
Monash (C)1,5511,505+46
Campaspe (S)6927+42
Albury (C)8849+39
Nedlands (C)6527+38
Swan Hill (RC)426+36
Leichhardt (A)6732+35
Stirling (C)12490+34
Greater Shepparton (C)9865+33
Ku-ring-gai (A)146115+31
Horsham (RC)343+31
Coffs Harbour (C)336+27
Burnside (C)6035+25
Wagga Wagga (C)3510+25
North Sydney (A)10277+25
Subiaco (C)4622+24
Sutherland Shire (A)4622+24
Moira (S)5532+23
Canada Bay (A)4421+23
West Torrens (C)3210+22
Charles Sturt (C)5230+22
Southern Grampians (S)3312+21
Waverley (A)5231+21
Onkaparinga (C)223+19
Armidale Dumaresq (A)190+19
Willoughby (C)8466+18
Ryde (C)4527+18
Northern Grampians (S)213+18
Barossa (DC)180+18
Deniliquin (A)180+18
West Tamar (M)180+18
Corangamite (S)247+17
Launceston (C)5337+16
Buloke (S)183+15
Logan (C)2510+15
West Wimmera (S)140+14
Hunters Hill (A)140+14
Eurobodalla (A)173+14
Newcastle (C)3925+14
Gannawarra (S)140+14
Hindmarsh (S)163+13
Wyong (A)130+13
Tea Tree Gully (C)130+13
Mosman Park (T)130+13
Colac-Otway (S)3523+12
Tweed (A)197+12
Mount Gambier (C)120+12
Campbelltown (C)120+12
Port Adelaide Enfield (C)3725+12
Greater Bendigo (C)144133+11
Melville (C)7261+11
Cairns (R)6251+11
Joondalup (C)4736+11
Wangaratta (RC)3928+11
Glenelg (S)2010+10
Alpine (S)3727+10
Byron (A)3727+10
Albany (C)100+10
Corowa Shire (A)166+10
Port Macquarie-Hastings (A)177+10
Strathfield (A)2313+10
Gosford (C)2313+10
Wingecarribee (A)144+10
Warrnambool (C)7364+9
Moyne (S)2718+9
Murray (A)156+9
Uralla (A)90+9
Shellharbour (C)90+9
Walkerville (M)123+9
Penrith (C)134+9
Latrobe (M)90+9
Mundaring (S)90+9
Yarriambiack (S)113+8
Narrabri (A)70+7
Benalla (RC)2316+7
Moonee Valley (C)344337+7
Redland (C)2518+7
Brimbank (C)178171+7
Campbelltown (C)2215+7
Light (RegC)70+7
Griffith (C)70+7
Bega Valley (A)2518+7
Harvey (S)60+6
Liverpool (C)126+6
Canning (C)2115+6
Port Pirie City and Dists (M)60+6
Katherine (T)60+6
Lake Macquarie (C)1610+6
Central Goldfields (S)93+6
Bombala (A)60+6
Moorabool (S)4236+6
Blacktown (C)1610+6
Wollongong (C)3731+6
Palerang (A)60+6
Towong (S)126+6
Port Augusta (C)60+6
Hurstville (C)1610+6
Capel (S)60+6
Central Highlands (R)60+6
Bassendean (T)60+6
Roxby Downs (M)60+6
Cooma-Monaro (A)60+6
Dubbo (C)149+5
Greater Hume Shire (A)116+5
Wakool (A)83+5
Ararat (RC)1712+5
Berrigan (A)138+5
Indigo (S)3631+5
Victoria Park (T)128+4
Fairfield (C)73+4
Broken Hill (C)73+4
Warringah (A)3733+4
Rockdale (C)1915+4
Adelaide (C)3431+3
Holroyd (C)129+3
Bundaberg (R)96+3
Townsville (C)4037+3
Glenorchy (C)129+3
Gawler (T)63+3
Burnie (C)63+3
Nambucca (A)63+3
Alice Springs (T)1512+3
Rockhampton (R)107+3
Hornsby (A)5351+2
Mandurah (C)86+2
Shoalhaven (C)64+2
Marrickville (A)4139+2
Toowoomba (R)87+1
Broome (S)76+1
Adelaide Hills (DC)109+1
Blue Mountains (C)98+1
Cottesloe (T)1110+1
South Perth (C)2827+1
Manly (A)2322+1
Kingborough (M)12120
Canterbury (C)770
Belmont (C)770
Loddon (S)770
Ballina (A)990
Kalamunda (S)660
Yarra Ranges (S)416417-1
Pyrenees (S)56-1
Fremantle (C)910-1
Prospect (C)910-1
Orange (C)89-1
Perth (C)2021-1
Lane Cove (A)2829-1
Bankstown (C)67-1
Botany Bay (C)910-1
Moreton Bay (R)3536-1
Wentworth (A)46-2
Parramatta (C)2123-2
Hobart (C)8588-3
Northern Midlands (M)36-3
Wanneroo (C)1518-3
Baw Baw (S)7275-3
Mosman (A)4245-3
Kogarah (C)912-3
Mackay (R)1215-3
Cockburn (C)2428-4
Nillumbik (S)294298-4
Randwick (C)6266-4
Unley (C)4044-4
Fraser Coast (R)49-5
Norwood Payneham St Peters (C)4045-5
Geraldton-Greenough (C)49-5
Rockingham (C)1015-5
Whitsunday (R)914-5
Greater Geraldton49-5
Port Hedland (T)39-6
Murrindindi (S)3440-6
Port Stephens (A)39-6
Palmerston (C)39-6
Busselton (S)39-6
Peppermint Grove (S)06-6
Salisbury (C)06-6
Armadale (C)06-6
West Arnhem (S)06-6
Unincorporated NT39-6
Clarence (C)2531-6
Sorell (M)06-6
Great Lakes (A)06-6
East Gippsland (S)8187-6
Cessnock (C)06-6
Glamorgan/Spring Bay (M)07-7
Bunbury (C)07-7
Bland (A)310-7
Woollahra (A)4653-7
Alexandrina (DC)310-7
No usual address (WA)07-7
East Pilbara (S)07-7
Litchfield (M)310-7
Bayswater (C)2028-8
Wattle Range (DC)09-9
Greater Dandenong (C)154163-9
No usual address (Qld)09-9
Mount Isa (C)09-9
Singleton (A)09-9
Marion (C)1120-9
Gosnells (C)918-9
No usual address (NSW)010-10
Tablelands (R)010-10
Vincent (T)2333-10
Burwood (A)919-10
Ipswich (C)314-11
Strathbogie (S)1526-11
Golden Plains (S)1021-11
Cambridge (T)2637-11
Unincorporated ACT310322-12
Cardinia (S)127139-12
Claremont (T)315-12
Yass Valley (A)012-12
Ashfield (A)1528-13
Auburn (C)316-13
Wyndham-East Kimberley (S)013-13
Holdfast Bay (C)2438-14
Queanbeyan (C)317-14
Sunshine Coast (R)92107-15
Mitchell (S)3450-16
Pittwater (A)1834-16
East Fremantle (T)018-18
Kalgoorlie/Boulder (C)018-18
Bass Coast (S)83102-19
Darwin (C)3858-20
The Hills Shire (A)1839-21
Ballarat (C)161184-23
Sydney (C)127154-27
Queenscliffe (B)1548-33
Brisbane (C)498532-34
Hepburn (S)1957-38
Mount Alexander (S)3776-39
Knox (C)529571-42
Mansfield (S)2672-46
Hume (C)96147-51
Gold Coast (C)158217-59
No usual address (Vic.)1574-59
Manningham (C)1,8901,954-64
Stonnington (C)2,3962,466-70
Melton (S)44126-82
Moreland (C)620706-86
Surf Coast (S)60151-91
Whittlesea (C)209304-95
Macedon Ranges (S)56164-108
Casey (C)308419-111
Frankston (C)99224-125
Maribyrnong (C)225355-130
Greater Geelong (C)264401-137
Glen Eira (C)711852-141
Bayside (C)268418-150
Hobsons Bay (C)132283-151
Kingston (C)228432-204
Melbourne (C)1,2591,484-225
Banyule (C)746983-237
Darebin (C)712979-267
Port Phillip (C)8501,144-294
Maroondah (C)408756-348
Wyndham (C)149527-378
Mornington Peninsula (S)281755-474
Whitehorse (C)2,7953,940-1,145
Show me more!

Source: Australian Bureau of Statistics, Census of Population and Housing , 2011 (Usual Residence Data). Compiled and presented in by .id , the population experts.