City of AdelaideCommunity profile

2016 Census data will be released soon and we're busy behind the scenes getting this website ready. Read our plan.

Skip to content

City of Adelaide

Migration by age and location

Between 2006 and 2011, the LGA with the highest net migration to the City of Adelaide (+97) was from Mitcham (C), whilst the highest net loss (-167) was to West Torrens (C).

The age structure of people who move into and out of the City of Adelaide is strongly influenced by the residential role and function of the area and can influence demand for particular services. For instance, inner city areas near employment, education and entertainment tend to attract many young people in their late teens and early twenties, who move out in their late twenties and thirties to start families in suburban areas. Rural areas tend to lose young people and gain older families and retirees.

Understanding the City of Adelaide's attraction to different age groups helps to plan services for the community as well as advocating with other levels of government and private enterprise to provide infrastructure, employment opportunities and facilities which may help to retain age groups which are otherwise leaving the area.

Derived from the Census questions:

'Where does the person usually live?' and 'Where did the person usually live five years ago (at 9 August 2006)'.

Net gains and losses by LGA
City of Adelaide - between 2006 and 2011
LGAIn migrationOut migrationNet migration
Mitcham (C)294197+97
Onkaparinga (C)187117+70
Tea Tree Gully (C)175114+61
Mount Gambier (C)7111+60
Adelaide Hills (DC)15192+59
Mildura (RC)6818+50
Port Pirie City and Dists (M)446+38
Barossa (DC)5721+36
Alice Springs (T)383+35
Wattle Range (DC)417+34
Playford (C)5424+30
Broken Hill (C)334+29
Holdfast Bay (C)11084+26
Port Lincoln (C)3814+24
Grant (DC)263+23
Port Augusta (C)3715+22
Whyalla (C)3716+21
Loxton Waikerie (DC)299+20
Salisbury (C)174155+19
Unincorporated ACT9074+16
Manningham (C)2812+16
Light (RegC)3115+16
Walkerville (M)132118+14
Mount Remarkable (DC)184+14
Goyder (DC)184+14
Renmark Paringa (DC)196+13
Ku-ring-gai (A)196+13
Wentworth (A)130+13
Tatiara (DC)2412+12
Naracoorte and Lucindale (DC)153+12
Bayside (C)120+12
Rockhampton (R)110+11
Mosman (A)154+11
Berri and Barmera (DC)143+11
Northern Areas (DC)110+11
Darwin (C)6252+10
Leichhardt (A)188+10
Southern Grampians (S)133+10
The Hills Shire (A)123+9
Glenelg (S)123+9
Ceduna (DC)90+9
Kingston (C)113+8
Central Coast (M)70+7
Greater Bendigo (C)70+7
Mid Murray (DC)70+7
Mount Barker (DC)5346+7
Yankalilla (DC)70+7
Horsham (RC)103+7
Clare and Gilbert Valleys (DC)1811+7
Warringah (A)125+7
Greater Geelong (C)1811+7
Mackay (R)70+7
The Coorong (DC)70+7
Banyule (C)70+7
Barunga West (DC)70+7
Byron (A)70+7
Fairfield (C)60+6
Knox (C)60+6
Yarra Ranges (S)93+6
Rockdale (C)93+6
West Arnhem (S)60+6
Anangu Pitjantjatjara (AC)60+6
Vincent (T)93+6
Melville (C)126+6
Wyong (A)60+6
Flinders Ranges (DC)60+6
Lower Eyre Peninsula (DC)60+6
Katherine (T)60+6
Northern Midlands (M)60+6
Melton (S)60+6
Palmerston (C)60+6
Lane Cove (A)116+5
Woollahra (A)1510+5
Townsville (C)127+5
Auburn (C)116+5
Strathfield (A)83+5
Canterbury (C)94+5
Gawler (T)2318+5
Tweed (A)73+4
Whittlesea (C)84+4
Alexandrina (DC)3935+4
Greater Geraldton63+3
Bundaberg (R)63+3
Whitehorse (C)1714+3
Geraldton-Greenough (C)63+3
Logan (C)63+3
Mornington Peninsula (S)63+3
Yorke Peninsula (DC)129+3
Toowoomba (R)108+2
Bankstown (C)64+2
Ballarat (C)97+2
Hobsons Bay (C)75+2
Lake Macquarie (C)64+2
Murray Bridge (RC)2120+1
Launceston (C)76+1
Randwick (C)1615+1
Glen Eira (C)13130
West Tamar (M)660
Wakefield (DC)89-1
Casey (C)67-1
Campbelltown (C)133134-1
Wollongong (C)910-1
Brimbank (C)89-1
East Gippsland (S)46-2
Gosnells (C)46-2
Cairns (R)1921-2
Newcastle (C)1214-2
Mount Isa (C)36-3
Shoalhaven (C)36-3
Ryde (C)69-3
MacDonnell (S)36-3
Wellington (S)36-3
Burnside (C)344347-3
Boroondara (C)3134-3
Cleve (DC)36-3
Ashfield (A)610-4
Holroyd (C)37-4
Whitsunday (R)37-4
Moreton Bay (R)610-4
Hobart (C)1924-5
Waverley (A)813-5
Hurstville (C)38-5
Cessnock (C)06-6
Subiaco (C)612-6
Hindmarsh (S)06-6
Victor Harbor (C)1218-6
No usual address (SA)1319-6
Joondalup (C)06-6
Monash (C)1824-6
Ipswich (C)06-6
Greater Shepparton (C)39-6
Cockburn (C)06-6
Esperance (S)06-6
Hornsby (A)1320-7
Unincorporated NT310-7
Kogarah (C)310-7
Canning (C)512-7
Hepburn (S)07-7
Wyndham (C)613-7
Armadale (C)07-7
Manly (A)09-9
Blacktown (C)09-9
Maribyrnong (C)615-9
Darebin (C)1121-10
Kalgoorlie/Boulder (C)011-11
Willoughby (C)718-11
Gold Coast (C)2435-11
Parramatta (C)618-12
Sunshine Coast (R)315-12
Perth (C)315-12
Canada Bay (A)317-14
North Sydney (A)1428-14
Port Phillip (C)2237-15
Moonee Valley (C)622-16
Marrickville (A)421-17
Moreland (C)624-18
Stirling (C)930-21
Stonnington (C)1637-21
Yarra (C)1249-37
Prospect (C)173214-41
Marion (C)149198-49
Sydney (C)56105-49
Melbourne (C)3290-58
Unley (C)329389-60
Brisbane (C)101192-91
Port Adelaide Enfield (C)267398-131
Charles Sturt (C)267398-131
Norwood Payneham St Peters (C)291440-149
West Torrens (C)204371-167
Show me more!

Source: Australian Bureau of Statistics, Census of Population and Housing , 2011 (Usual Residence Data). Compiled and presented in by .id , the population experts.